Sweet and Savory Tri-Tip Roast in Crockpot

It is hot. Super hot. It has been weeks of over 100 degree days in a row with little to no relief. I sweat just walking to my car in the morning most days. So believe me when I tell you I don’t want to have to use my oven very often right now.

R defrosted the tri-tip roast he found for Sunday’s dinner and I dug through recipes to find one that I liked but I couldn’t find anything that I wanted to make. First of all I was limited on what ingredients I had and driving to the store was not something I wanted to do when it takes 25 minutes just to get to a store. So I winged it. I told R this could go bad or good. He is always down for trying anything. I have to say though, it came out good and full of flavor. Which was my goal! Definitely a good recipe to keep on hand for those days you don’t want to heat up your house. It used fresh fruit but also had a balsamic vinegar marinade. Made it a sweet and savory kind of dish.

There are a couple parts to this recipe, the rub to rub on it before it sits overnight in the fridge and the marinade to pour over it. I listed each one out separately below. Try it and tell me how you like it!!

Sweet and Savory Tri-tip Roast in Crockpot

Ingredients:

Rub:

  • Salt (I use pink Himalayan)
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Sage
  • Rosemary

Marinade:

20170723_133412_wm

  • 1/4 Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/4 Honey
  • 3 tablespoons of stone ground mustard
  • Red Pepper flakes

Other Ingredients:

  • Tri-tip Roast
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3-4 shallots
  • 4-5 garlic cloves
  • 1-2 Ripe Apricots
  • 1-2 Ripe apples

Directions:

  1. The night before, take your rub and mix it all together in a bowl. Take your tri tip and rub a little olive oil all over it. Rub the seasoning into the tri tip evenly. Place it in plastic bag, if you have left over rub just pour it over the roast in the bag. Place bag in refrigerator for 8 hours or overnight.
  2. The next day, prep your crock pot by adding a little olive oil to the bottom and sides. Cut up onion and line the bottom of the crock pot with the onion slices. Take some shallots and slice them, placing them with the onion at the bottom of the crock pot. Add some whole garlic cloves as well.
  3. Slice up your ripe apples and apricot, place on top of the onion. Save some pieces for the top as well.
  4. Place your meat on top of all of this, pour the balsamic vinegar marinade over the top, add some additional red pepper flakes if you wish. Also add some garlic and shallots with some apple slices and apricot slices over the top.
  5. Cook on low for 8 hours or high for 5-6 hours. Pull out the meat and discard the rest.

Afterwards I sliced it up for some tacos but you could eat this with just vegetables on the side as well.

Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

