T-Bone Steak

It is almost a holiday weekend and it feels like my Friday is running so sloooooooow. I am obviously ready for some days off since work has been extremely busy.

At the house, my plants are producing and I find myself constantly popping a cherry tomato or strawberry into my mouth.

20170626_175954_wm

Every once in awhile I share with R but mostly I really just kind of use them as pre dinner snacks. Once the big tomato plants start ripening though I will have to then start making salsas and homemade spaghetti sauce. I really love having a garden.

I even share with the chickens and horses at times. Thinking of horses, because of our 9 day heat streak of over 100 degree days, the horses sat. I work during the day so by the time I got home it was so boiling hot I wasn’t going to do that to them or me. So now that the weather is reasonable again I have been wandering out to the pasture to spend time with them again. The trouble maker gelding of course loves to knock over my buckets and bite Sophie when she is trying to work with me. He needs a job so bad. He just can’t sit still which is why him and R are such a good pair.

20170627_185039_wm

Sophie I can tell is a bit bored. Mostly she likes working with me and runs up to me when she sees me walking over to the pasture. So I have decided to do some liberty training with her after a ton of research and tutorials. I think it will be something fun for her to learn and a great way to further bond with her. So starting next week we are on liberty training and I am going to work with her on the one reign training as well. I think it is good motivation to work with her daily and keeps her mind busy so she doesn’t keep giving me that bored desperate look. She really does like using her brain.

So the other day R was responsible for pulling out the meat for dinner and what does he pull out, this huge 25 oz T-bone steak he picked up at the grocery store. I have never really cooked T-bone steak before and especially not a huge one. So I experimented with it a bit and it came out actually really good. We were able to split it in half and share it between us for dinner with some vegetables on the side.

T-Bone Steak done right…

Ingredients:

20170626_180851_wm

  • T-Bone Steak (I had a 25 oz one)
  • Lemon pepper
  • Pink Himalayan salt
  • Italian seasoning
  • 1-2 tablespoons of butter

Instructions:

  1. Start preheating broiler. Mine only has one setting so I am not sure what setting it is on.
  2. Heat up a skillet with 1-2 tablespoons of butter.
  3. While the skillet heats up season the T-bone steak with lemon pepper, salt and Italian seasoning. I rubbed it in a bit too and was really generous with the seasoning.
  4. Once the skillet is hot (you can do the water test), pop the T-bone steak on the skiller and cook about 6-7 minutes on each side. You might need to adjust this depending on thickness and size of your T-bone steak.
  5. Once done, either take the entire skillet and place it in the broiler or transfer it to a pan. Place the T-bone steak under the broiler for about 5-7 minutes on each side or a little bit more if you like it more well done. You can also stick a meat thermometer in there and check the internal temp before eating. I always keep one handy and am constantly checking my meat temps.

20170626_183615_wm

I have to say, I was pretty proud of this steak. It looked amazing and tasted excellent. I got through about 3/4 of my piece and I finally had to call mercy. This steak was HUGE. I don’t even remember the exact size, I am estimating it was 25 oz though.

Try it and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

