Crock Pot Chuck Roast

Was cleaning the coop the other day and spotted the artichoke plant in full bloom. With how busy it has been we all forgot about the artichoke plant and they got to bloom. I have to tell you, artichoke plants in bloom are beautiful! I don’t know why people don’t make bouquets out of them because they are truly unique.

20170612_183501_wm

Also happening around the ranch, June Cash (the oldest hen) has taught Mrs. Leghorn (one of the teenage hens) how to perch on the fence. Sigh. I really need to get around to clipping all of their wings the little troublemakers.

Found a treat that the chickens love on hot days, watermelon and even the ducks join in when I throw it out there. It is literally gone in a few minutes. Even had the horses try some, the gelding is all for it but my mare was not interested in the slightest.

I am working on getting the weeds down in the garden. They over ran when we all got busy and though the veggies are still coming up, they are fighting their way through weeds. So each evening I work on a bit at a time. It is a slow process but it is making a little bit of headway. Got the beets cleared, the snap peas, the tomatoes, the carrots and spinach. Despite this though the squash is already huge and blooming. My tomatoes in planters in the yard are super happy and I am popping cherry tomatoes in my mouth as I walk around most evenings. The lettuce bucket is out of control, I probably should pick some soon for a big summer salad. I just love having all these fresh fruits/veggies coming up!

It has been days full of crazy projects at work and evenings full of getting things done around the ranch while trying not to sweat my booty off.

We are in the middle of an 8 day heat wave of over 100 degree days. I am not ready for this kind of summer yet. I have frozen a ton of jugs of water in hopes that the chickens will stand near them when they get too hot. I am also wetting down their soil and checking their water. I am hoping to convince R to help me install a mister system for out there and on our porch as well for the hotter days. The problem with our heat spells is the evenings don’t cool down all that much so there isn’t much relief from the constant baking heat and even with an ac running full blast it can’t compete with the relentless 108 degree days.

On hot days nothing makes me happier than letting the slow cooker do the work instead of having my oven blast out more heat. So I have been all for the crock pot love! Experimented with a chuck roast and it came out delicious. Just simmered away on low in the crock pot the entire day and was ready to eat by the time I got home! I don’t like to put vegetables in my crock pot with my roasts because I find it makes them soggy so I just threw in some brussel sprouts in the oven quickly.

20170613_180516_wm

As a side note I finally bought real adult knives for the kitchen. You know, the one’s that come with lifetime guarantees and free sharpening for life. I can’t believe how much fun I am having cutting up vegetables and meat. Oh my gosh I now know what I have been missing out on all these years! I threw those cheap Wal-Mart knifes right into the camping box and walked away. Boo ya!

So here we go…

Chuck Roast in the Crock Pot

Ingredients:

  • 2lb chuck roast
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Salt (I use pink Himalayan)
  • Italian seasoning
  • 1 cup of water
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. Make small slits in your roast randomly on the front and back, slide garlic cloves into those slits. Rub your chuck roast with olive oil making sure it all gets coated. Seasoning it generously with salt, lemon pepper and Italian seasoning. Rub the seasoning in.
  2. Place seasoned roast into crock pot with one cup of water on low for 8 hours or more or high for roughly half of the time.

Viola! Done! Pretty simple right??

For the brussel sprouts just cut them in half removing the outer leaves and place them into a bowl. Add in some balsamic vinegar, salt, lemon pepper and olive oil. Tossed it all around and it then bake it at 325 degrees for 15-20 minutes in the oven. Came out as the perfect side dish!

Dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

