Shrimp and Sausage Bake

We all know I am about convenience when it comes to week day dinners. Let’s be honest, if it isn’t easy and simple, I don’t even want to deal with it during the week. On the weekends, when I don’t have plans, I am all for complicated dinners but not during the week.

Last night R was out of town for work and I was on my own. Whenever R is going to be out of town for work I make sure to rush home from work and start on all the chores right away. I run around watering the plants, turning on the sprinkler to water the roses, let the chickens/chicks out of their coop for some bug hunting, check for eggs, check to make sure all of the animals are healthy, fill up everyone’s water (and there is a lot of water containers to fill and change out), make sure everyone is stocked up on food and last night was garbage night so all the garbage needed to go out then the garbage can needed to be walked down our long drive way. I also like to go check on the big garden to make sure the automatic watering system is working and I check on Sophie to see if she needs bug spray or anything. It is definitely easier with R around in the evenings that’s for sure.

R offered to pay for a pizza for me and I could pick it up, I think he feels bad with how much I have to do while he is away. But I have actually been keeping on track with my workouts and I don’t really want to eat crappy food that is just going to make me feel horrible. Plus we have some plans this weekend and I am pretty sure I will be indulging a bit. I would much rather save my calories. So eating at home was what I decided and boy was I glad I decided that!

I was staring at the contents of my fridge and realized there were some veggies that needed to be cooked. Specifically green beans and corn. So I got a little creative and came up with a one pan throw in the oven mixture of what I had and it turned out amazing. The smell of butter wafted through the house and made my mouth water. The taste was even better once it was done. I can’t tell you how good this recipe was and it was simple. Didn’t take much to prep and throw in the oven for 25 minutes. You have to try this recipe! It was like a summertime shrimp and sausage boil but without boiling (well the corn got boiled for a few minutes but nothing else).

On a side note, R and I just purchased our first ever adult knife set. The kind that comes with free sharpening and a lifetime guarantee because I finally reached my boiling point with dull knives. They have just shipped so last night while I was cutting corn with our pathetic knives I was losing my patience so I just started snapping them in half with my hands. It worked! So note to self, if you have dull knives like me, snap the corn in half with your hands.

Shrimp and Sausage Bake

20170525_203654_wm

Ingredients:

  • 1 Kielbasa Sausage (the kind the comes in the U-shape package)
  • 1-2 cups of Shrimp (I got cooked, deveined, frozen shrimp because I am classy)
  • 2 ears of corn
  • 2-3 cups of string beans (I didn’t snap the ends off because I am a rebel)
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Salt (I use pink Himalayan salt)
  • 1 fresh lemon
  • Non stick spray (I use butter flavor)

Directions:

  1. Start preheating your oven to 400 degrees and start a pot of water boiling for the corn.
  2. Let the corn boil for 5 minutes.
  3. Place your 1/2 stick of butter into a small pan, add in your garlic cloves (I use my garlic press), some seasoning and squeeze half of your lemon into the butter mixture. Let melt on low heat.
  4. Spray a baking sheet with non stick spray. Start cutting up your sausage, throw it on the baking sheet with the green beans and shrimp. Make it all as spread out as you can.
  5. Squeeze the other half of your lemon on to the green beans, shrimp and sausage.
  6. Add the boiled corn by breaking it into smaller pieces (or cutting it if you have sharper knives). Season everything with some more lemon pepper and salt.
  7. Pour the melted butter garlic mixture over the top of everything. Toss it all together. Just coat as much of everything as you can.
  8. Place it in the oven. Set your timer for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes toss it all one last time and set the timer again for another 5-10 minutes. Depending on how well you like your sausage and everything cooked.

The smell that comes out of your oven is drool worthy and so is the food! I made extra for lunch today as well.

After that I treated myself to a luxurious bath. I had picked up a bath bomb and new strawberry soap, handmade, from a craft fair I went too and I was dying to try it out.

My skin felt so good after that lovely bath bomb and I got 30 minutes to myself just reading my book in luxury with a face mask on. Now that is how you treat yourself on a Thursday evening after working all week, going to the gym all week, busting your ass at taking care of household stuff and cooking an amazing dinner!!

Happy Friday!!

Leave a Reply

