Chia Seed Lemon Dressing

I am horrible at remembering to prep my lunches. Terrible. Mostly because I go to look for a storage container, get fed up and then go to bed. But lately I have been trying to be good about it. I am hoping to make it apart of my nightly routine to cook dinner and while cooking prep my lunches. Let’s be honest here, if I have to do it in the morning I will just walk out the door and get myself a salad from down the street. I already have to feed the dogs, let the chickens out, check on the ducks and get myself somewhat presentable for work. I got enough on my plate in the mornings.

Because there seems to be an issue in my house, an issue with my plastic Tupperware taking off with my socks and usually leaving me wondering how the heck that keeps happening?! I got fed up and bought myself a big thing of mason jars. Honestly, it was probably an excuse to buy mason jars. Love those things. They are the centerpieces in my wedding after all.

20170308_190344_wm

I focus on protein mostly. Having PCOS has taught me a lot about what my body will tolerate and what it won’t. So I usually focus on vegetables, fruits and proteins. I had some salami with cream cheese for snacks. A banana. Some celery with all natural peanut butter. Some water flavor with no sugar. I used the mason jars for some oatmeal and a very yummy spinach salad with almonds, cranberries, feta cheese and spinach.

IMG_20170308_194121_471_wm

So good I devoured it before I could even get a picture of it outside of the mason jar.

I hate salad dressing. Okay, I hate bad salad dressing that comes in a plastic bottle. It never tastes quit right to me. So I usually settle for making my own. Plus that way I know what is in it and I don’t have to guess. Make’s life simpler.

I experimented with a lemon chia seed dressing and it came out good. Really good. Only a small amount of sugar was used and honestly you could leave it out if you wanted too or substitute some honey. Either way, you might just never buy dressing again after you get a taste of making this one.

So here it is..

Lemon Chia Seed Dressing

20170308_190258_wm

Ingredients:

  • 1 fresh lemon
  • Lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon of chia seeds
  • 3-4 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar (or honey)

Instructions:

  1. Pour olive oil in bowl. Zest fresh lemon peel into olive oil.
  2. Squeeze half of a lemon into the olive oil mixture.
  3. Mix in chia seeds and sugar.
  4. Whisk together.

You can also store this in a mason jar if you wish. I did and I just shook it up before I poured it. So yummy!! Added bonus, chia seeds are said to be very good for women with PCOS. Supposedly they help with balancing out sugars, so I guess they would be good for diabetes as well. You should research it, it was fun to read up on them and I have been incorporating them into my oatmeal and dressings since.

Do you prep lunches in advance??

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

