Weekend Stuff and Overnight Oats

This weekend felt like it went by far too fast for my liking. It also felt a bit busy with a bit of lazy thrown in.

The busy part was Saturday. R and I went around to different furniture stores trying to find the right bed and mattress. Our current mattress is hard as a rock and the bed’s frame is breaking. I have a certain attachment to my old bed because it was my first major purchase as an adult. I was sleeping on a futon on the floor until I saved up enough cash to go get my bed from Ikea. It has lasted through many moves and a divorce. But the mattress has been replaced several times and I get tired of the Ikea mattresses. So I agreed with R when he said they both needed to be replaced. Our bedroom is becoming more of a country chic look to it and my bed leans towards modern anyways.

Furniture shopping has got to be the worst experience ever. So many pushy sales people. Beds are truly so expensive that you want to die a little inside when looking at the price tags and they all seem so cheaply made. We found the perfect mattress that should last 10 years and comes with a full warranty but I am still in sticker shock over the beds/dressers/bedside tables. I got so fed up that I was about in tears. It isn’t that we can’t afford them, we can, it is just that I didn’t love any of the bed sets enough to spend $1600 on them. But I did find some amazing llama stools that I will be snatching up soon! So it wasn’t a total waste of time.

When I got home from furniture shopping I couldn’t shake the frustration. So I started hunting for ways to make my own bed. I found several plans and step by step instructions that seem easy enough. Get this, the supplies only cost $150 vs. the $1600 bed sets you buy at furniture stores. Not to mention I can make two bed side tables for $40 each. They match my style perfectly and I will be able to say I made my own bed set. I almost have R convinced. He seems skeptical so we are still debating but if you have any success stories of building your own furniture, please tell me!!!

On Sunday we prepped some ribs for BBQ’ing.

received_395807907438453_wm

Just rubbed some spices in them and smothered them in R’s second favorite BBQ sauce and let them marinate all day like that. Then slapped them on to the BBQ and they turned out delicious.

During a break in the rain we spent some time letting the ladies run out their energy and graze a bit.

I got some pretty cool videos of Sophie bucking and being a silly horse. (You can check out the video on my Instagram at @blondeparalegal.) They needed some run time after being cooped up due to this rain. I feel their pain. All this wet and muddy weather is driving us all nutso.

R and I finally also sat down to come up with a timeline of what to do each month to prep for our wedding. It feels like it is right around the corner and I don’t want to fall behind in planning. We tried to go over the guest list but I keep having a panic attack about how to deal with certain guests. I love my entire family but we can’t have a million people at our wedding, there are people that don’t get along and then there are people that aren’t really involved with R and I’s life that we would only be inviting because they are related to us. It all just feels messy. I ended up hiding in the bedroom under the covers and R had to coax me out with lots of sweet words and hugs. ARGH! I am so decisive on everything else but that guest list.

On a happier note, let’s talk overnight oats

One of the things I did was prep some overnight oats for this morning. It only takes a few minutes and really you can get as creative as you want with them. They are high in protein and so easy to throw in your bag to eat whenever you get a chance. If you are anything like me that is amazing because between commuting and work, often breakfast gets shoved to the back burner. Last night I experimented with some coconut overnight oats.

received_395871987432045_wm

Coconut Overnight Oats

  • 2 cups of overnight oats
  • 2 1/2 cups of coconut milk (unsweetened or sweetened)
  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • some coconut flakes sweetened
  • 4 tablespoons of maple syrup or favorite sweetener
  • 2 table spoons of Greek yogurt (sweetened or unsweetened)

Mix everything together and place in mason jars to quickly grab in the morning. Let sit in the fridge all night.

20170206_093931_wm

The cool thing about overnight oats is you can add just about anything. You could do fresh fruit. Frozen fruit. Some honey as a sweetener. You can use almond milk. Throw some almonds in there. They are so versatile and easy to just throw with anything healthy.

So what is your favorite overnight oats recipe??

Leave a Reply

