Clam Chowder Wonderfulness

It was a rainy stormy weekend. My favorite kind of weekend. I love rain. I love wind. I love being safe and cozy in my house with a fire while the storm rages on outside. It was the kind of storm where the rain poured down our windows in sheets and the resident ducks thought the flooded puddle in the driveway was far better than the pond in the horse pasture.

20161016_113316_wm

In between storms, on Saturday, while the wind was howling, I decided to head to the grocery store. I had slept horribly and the power went out at some point knocking out my alarm. So I ended up waking up at 10:45 a.m. which is unheard of in my world. I am normally up at 7 a.m. on the weekends since that is considered sleeping in to me now. I had planned to head to the stables at 7 a.m., ride before the next storm hit and then go grocery shopping but that wasn’t what happened. Instead I took a nice hot shower to shake the fuzzies out of my head and asked R what he would like to have for dinner. I was thinking something warm like soup. He voted for clam chowder, his favorite. I have never made clam chowder but I am always up for an adventure and I knew the basis of how to prepare it. I did my research, looked at several different recipes and headed to the grocery store.

I think the most difficult ingredient to find was the clam juice and I almost lost my patience. But I found the very last bottle tucked up on the top shelf all the way in the back. I had to hunt down a tall employee because of course my tall fiancé was working and not with me. But I got my bottle of clam juice!! In case you are wondering, the clams and clam juice should be near the cans of tuna fish.

This was my first time making clam chowder so I was nervous. No need to be nervous though because this recipe turned out amazing. It really was yummy and we ate up all of it down to the last drop. I just paired it was some homemade Imitation Text Roadhouse Rolls with the special butter and it was so damn good. We ate everything. The rolls. The chowder. Everything!

Clam Chowder Wonderfulness

20161015_205410_wm

Ingredients:

  • 3 cans of chopped clams (6.5 ounces)
  • 1 bottle of clam juice (8 ounces)
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 4-5 red potatoes
  • 1 teaspoon of thyme
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 4 tablespoons of all purpose flour
  • 1 cup of half and half
  • 1 cup of whole milk
  • Bacon
  • Oyster crackers

Directions:

  1. Dice up your sweet onion and red potatoes. I don’t peel the potatoes or anything, I just cut them up. Place diced up sweet onions and red potatoes into crockpot.
  2. Add your 3 cans of chopped up clams. Add the juice from one of the cans with the clams and drain the other two cans before adding them to the crockpot.
  3. Add the 8 ounce bottle of clam juice. Season with thyme, salt and pepper. 20161015_151537_wm
  4. Put the lid on the crockpot, turn to high and let cook for 4 hours on high.
  5. After 4 hours on high, turn crockpot on low. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt the 2 tablespoons of butter. Add in the flour while constantly stirring. Then slowly, a little bit at a time, add in the cup of milk and the cup of half and half stirring constantly.
  6. Cook over medium heat stirring until the sauce starts to thicken. Once the sauce is thick, stir it into the crockpot mixture. Keeping the temperature at low, cook everything for 30 more minutes in the crockpot.
  7. Cook bacon, add crumbled bacon to each bowl of clam chowder with some oyster crackers. Then try not to lick the bowl when you are done!!

Okay, now go pick up your ingredients and make this clam chowder. You won’t regret it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

