Stuffed Chicken with simple mashed potatoes

We got a teaser of Fall here, a week of super cold weather to the point where I brought out my winter blankets for the bed and started planning stew recipes to make. But I knew I pushed it too far when I wore my sweater and boots because the next day it was in the high 90’s again and on Monday it was 100 degrees. Then rain this morning. California does this a lot in the fall though, hot cold hot cold hot cold till it finally settles down. I am really ready for Fall though and even bought two pumpkins in hopes it encourages the weather to cool down!

So now let’s talk chicken. I hate boring chicken. Like really hate boring chicken. I am always on the hunt for any ideas that I can do with chicken and kept seeing stuffed chicken recipes all over the place. So I did my research and came up with my own stuffed chicken recipe that even R was amazed at. Here is a teaser, it involves a lot of cheese because hello, I have a cheese problem. A block maybe lasts a few days in our house! Anyways, I did this without beating the chicken flat like 99% of the recipes called for, instead I discovered a small trick on how to stuff it and keep the stuffing in. Unlike most of my recipes, this isn’t a quick dinner, it takes some time to prep and cook.

Let’s get cooking…

STUFFED CHICKEN

20160919_175347_wm

Ingredients:

  • 3 defrosted chicken boneless/skinless breasts
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup of pepperjack cheese or your favorite cheese, I also used some Mexican blend too
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic minced
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 cup of Spinach (I used fresh but you can use frozen too)
  • Couple pieces of uncooked spaghetti or toothpicks

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Start wilting the spinach. I did this by filling a pan with a little bit of water, adding in a folding steamer insert for my pot, putting a lid on it, keeping it on a low heat and letting the steam wilt the spinach for roughly 15 minutes or so. You can also microwave the spinach to wilt it or wilt it in a pan with a lid.
  2. While that is wilting, in a big bowl mix together your garlic (I use my garlic press), sour cream, cheese and add your wilted spinach once it is ready. I got creative with my cheese, I used probably a cup of pepperjack and a 1/2 cup of a Mexican cheese blend. Stir all together till it is evenly distributed. 20160919_163332_wm
  3. Poor olive oil in frying pan and turn the pan on medium heat to start heating it up. Have your baking dish ready as well. Slice the thickest part of the chicken so that there is a little pocket to shove the stuffing into. There is a great tutorial over at the O Taste and See Blog. Stuff the chicken full of the sour cream cheese spinach filling and place several pieces of raw uncooked spaghetti through the opening to seal it up so the filling doesn’t spill out as much. You can also use toothpicks but I didn’t have any so uncooked spaghetti it was.
  4. This part will get messy but in a good way. Take the stuffed chicken, season it with salt and pepper before placing it in the pan of hot olive oil. Cook both sides for a couple minutes. Yes the filling will ooze out, do the best you can. It isn’t pretty but it is worth it. Place the piece of chicken on the baking pan and start on the next piece.   20160919_165648_wm
  5. I went ahead and took any filling that ended up falling out in the pan and poured it on top of the pieces of chicken than added some extra cheese on top of each piece. Bake the chicken for roughly 45 minutes. You want the internal temp at 165 degrees and no pink. Viola stuffed chicken with no pounding!

Simple Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 5-6 Red potatoes
  • 1/4 cup of sour cream
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • Garlic salt
  • Cheese

Directions:

  1. Boil cut up red potatoes (I don’t peel mine) until soft.
  2. Strain potatoes once soft, add in sour cream, butter, seasoning and mix until all combined.
  3. Taste test, add more of what you think it is missing, mix again and add cheese once you have the taste correct. Add as much or little cheese as you like. Then serve.

Comes out yummy, cheesy and fluffy!!

And for desert I baked a blackberry pie we picked up frozen from a local farm.

20160919_154941_wm
Perfect dinner! Took some time but it was well worth it!

Give it a try and let me know what you think!!

One thought on “Stuffed Chicken with simple mashed potatoes

Leave a Reply

