Tomato Dilemma

Did you miss me?

I have been so busy. On top of my normal 9 hour work day I also commute 45 minutes to the stables where I work part time in exchange for riding. It takes a couple of hours to brush, check over, saddle and ride the horse. So most nights I have been dragging my butt into my front door around 9 p.m. Exhausted, covered in horse hair and usually with arena dirt crunching between my teeth. I am lucky if I make it to my front door before I collapse. Last night I sat in the car for an extra minute to watch a video on my phone and fell asleep in there until R came and got me. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything because out there my head just clears from all the stress and I am completely focused on the task in front of me. Plus I have made some good friends, four legged and two legged.

IMG_20160719_213515_wm

So last week I came home to a tomato plant full of tomatoes and was wondering what to do with all the juicy red tomatoes. Suddenly it struck me, I had an abundance of corn as well, maybe I could make a tomato and corn salad type deal as a side to the fish that was already baking in the oven. Guess what?! It turned out amazing! A nice refreshing summer salad type deal. The best part, so damn easy and you could really experiment with what to put in it. Explore the different flavors. I am so excited to share this one with ya’ll.

Tomato and Corn Salad

20160727_173126_wm

Ingredients:

  • Fresh Tomatoes
  • Fresh Corn
  • Fresh Basil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Instructions:

20160706_142415_wm

  1. Boil corn in water and then when done cut it off the cob
  2. Dice tomatoes and mix in with corn
  3. Add in ripped up fresh basil, add however much or little you want depending on how strong you like the taste of basil
  4. Add in salt and pepper to taste
  5. Mix in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. You don’t need a lot. I put about a tablespoon of each in. If you like more balsamic vinegar place more in, if you like less, add in less
  6. Mix it all together and voila, you have a fresh and easy summer side dish

20160727_173114_wm (2)

As always share this recipe and let me know how you liked it!!!

Leave a Reply

