Broiled Catfish

I have had this recipe waiting to be posted and I keep forgetting. I am all about the lean meats lately (fish, pork, chicken). Last night I actually introduced R to turkey burger. Anyways, the point of the matter is catfish. I love catfish. I love finding good recipes that encourage me to eat my catfish. I posted a catfish recipe that was all done in an aluminium pocket which was great. This recipe was done in the broiler though. I have been discovering the wonderful things I can cook in my broiler after not knowing what a broiler was for a long time. I also invested in a garlic press (I say invested but it only cost my $3) and have been using crushed garlic on EVERYTHING. It rocks!

Before I mention the catfish, I tried a hassleback sweet potato recipe the other day and it was TERRIBLE. It looked so good…

20160610_194610_wm

Terrible. If you know of a good sweet potato hassleback recipe, please do share!!!

Now on to the good recipe…

Catfish Broiled

20160609_183634_wm

Ingredients:

  • Catfish fillets
  • Salt/Pepper/Garlic salt
  • Butter
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic
  • Lemon

Directions:

  1. Line a baking pan in aluminum foil and place two (or more) catfish fillets on the pan. Season catfish fillets with salt, pepper and garlic powder;
  2. Melt about 2-3 tablespoons of butter. Once the butter is melted, mix it with the 1/4 cup of olive oil, crushed garlic (about 2-3 cloves);
  3. Pour this mixture evenly over the two catfish fillets;
  4. Cut lemon in half, squeeze one half on one fillet and the other half on the other fillet. This all depends on how much you like lemon. I love lemon on fish so I squeezed an entire lemon over them;
  5. Place broiler on medium and place catfish fillets in broiler for 6 minutes. Rotate pan and cook for another 4-5 minutes. I also flipped them over at this point but you don’t have to.

Serve with some vegetables and bam, you have a quick during the week catfish dinner. Low carb. Healthy. PCOS friendly. And don’t forget, yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

