Finger Licking Pork Spare Ribs

Sunday I had the internet technician coming towards the later morning because the first installer put the internet box in the wrong location (as well as messed up a lot of other things too I guess out of pure laziness). So I figured I would take advantage of being stuck at home and get to some chores that have been pending on my to do list.

It was hot out there anyways this weekend and all 100’s predicted this week too, summer has arrived and so has the season of staying indoors unless floating on the river in an inner tube.

While I was re-vamping the office, scrubbing the kitchen floors and doing R’s taxes, I figured I would also let some ribs slow cook in the oven. I don’t know about you but I am always on the look out for a good ribs recipe. All I could think was, I have all morning to marinade the pork spare ribs and then slow cook them in the oven. I love slow cooked ribs almost as much as I love ribs off of the BBQ. Almost.

Before I would have just dumped some BBQ sauce on them and called it even but I am really trying not to do that anymore. One, because BBQ sauce has a ton of sugar in it and two, I think it is actually fun to explore new ways of making delicious meals. Plus I have noticed marinating meat makes it taste better. I went from someone who couldn’t cook to someone who loves to cook and explore new recipes. Funny how that happens. Anyways, I posted a recipe for quick pork spare ribs and this recipe is now for low and slow ribs for when you actually have the time to cook ribs properly.

Now I have been teaching myself what I can experiment with and what I can’t, I love using olive oil and balsamic vinegar with pork because it tastes really good to me. So on Sunday that is what I used, some of my favorite ingredients to make a marinade for the pork spare ribs.

Balsamic Vinegar  Marinade and Glaze for Pork Spare Ribs

IMG_20160529_104902_wm

Ingredients:

  • 1 rack of Pork spare ribs
  • 1/2 cup of Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/2 cup of Olive Oil
  • 1-3 Garlic cloves
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Red Chili Pepper
  • 2-4 Tablespoons of your favorite BBQ Sauce

Directions:

  1. Take defrosted ribs and place in glass baking dish. Make sure the baking dish has sides. Whisk in a bowl the balsamic vinegar, crushed garlic cloves, salt, pepper, red chili pepper and olive oil.
  2. Pour mixture over ribs in the glass dish and place in refrigerator. I set a timer for every hour to rotate the ribs a couple times so that each side was getting a chance to soak in the mixture. I covered the glass baking sheet with some aluminium foil as well before placing in the fridge.
  3. After letting it marinade overnight or all morning long (3-4 hours) in my case, set oven at 275 degrees. Place ribs on baking rack. I used the aluminium foil that was covering the ribs to then cover the baking sheet underneath so it wouldn’t be as messy. Take the excess marinade at the bottom of the glass dish and place it in a small sauce pan. Bring to boil for about 1 minute and stir often. Pour a little bit of this mixture over the ribs before placing them in the oven to cook.20160529_144206_wm20160529_144152_wm
  4. I set a timer for every hour and thirty minutes to baste the ribs with the balsamic mixture. After about three and a half hours, I placed a little bit of BBQ sauce on the ribs and cooked them for another thirty minutes. Then I broiled them on medium heat each side for five minutes for the crisp factor because I love ribs that are crispy as well as fall off the bone. 20160529_182712_wm

I added some steamed vegetables on the side and some sweet potato mash (just made with a little bit of sour cream and butter).

20160529_184756_wm

You guys, it was SO damn good. The minute I bit into these ribs and the meat just fell off the bone, I almost cried in happiness. Even R couldn’t stop eating them and finished off my portion that I couldn’t finish. They were that good. Definitely a recipe I will be using again in the future because slow cooked pork spare ribs should be this good.

As always, try the recipe and let me know! I love hearing about changes or alternative versions.

 

Leave a Reply

