Quick Ribs

Okay, confession, I love ribs and if I had a gas grill you bet I would be making them all the time. But alas, I only have a charcoal grill and well no charcoal at the moment. So when I pulled the ribs out of the freezer to defrost for dinner on Wednesday, I completely forgot that ribs should be cooked low and slow. Not a great quick dinner for a week day meal when you work. Whoops.

After some digging around on the wonderful web I found an option to make some pork spare ribs on the stove. Yes, the stove. How cool is that?? I read the recipe, didn’t like everything they were placing in it and decided to just wing it with ingredients I know work well with pork.

They turned out great. They were boyfriend tested and came out finger licking good. Not a drop of left overs to be seen for miles. Well there was some left over salad but I just took that for lunch today.

Now warning, I just kind of winged this and threw it together without exact measurements. I just used my best judgment and it worked out pretty darn well. The below amounts are just guesstimates of what I used. So add what you like, play with it and have fun!

Ingredients:

  • Pork Spare Ribs
  • 1/4 Soy Sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • salt/pepper
  • Garlic salt
  • 2-3 gloves of fresh garlic – minced or cut up as small as you can
  • 1-2 cloves of shallots – minced or cut up as small as you can
  • 3-4 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 fresh Lemon

Instructions:

Put the ribs in a deep pan (I used my wok) and cover with water. Don’t completely submerge them, just enough water to barely cover them.

20160413_185210_wm

(Don’t mind the beets on the right, I decided I wanted some fresh beets in my salad).

With the water and ribs, mix in the soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, garlic, seasoning, honey, shallots, a dash or two of Worcestershire sauce and squeeze a half of a lemon in there. I think you could also probably throw in some fresh herbs if you got them and want to.

Let everything simmer in the wok till the water evaporates almost all away. Watch this because it will burn on the pan if you forget about it. Once the water is evaporated mix up anything that got stuck to the bottom (garlic pieces, shallots, seasoning, etc) and let the ribs cook on each side now in the pain. I cooked mine till they were pretty well cooked on each side. The meat thermometer is my best friend these days as I experiment with cooking and I tested out the ribs, they should be at least 145 degrees, mine were up to 165 degrees .

I turned my broiler on normal, added the ribs to the broiler for about 5 minutes on each side. Brought some normal BBQ sauce I bought in a bottle to the table to dip them in and made a fresh salad as a side.

Viola, ribs! Finger licking good and I didn’t need to slow cook them all day. Of course they won’t fall off the bone like if you cooked them low and slow but hey, when you got ribs defrosted on a Wednesday and you are starving after working all day, you do what you must.

ribs

(Sorry about the poor picture quality, I have special light bulbs in my kitchen that burnt out and haven’t hunted some down yet.)

Experiment with this and tell me what you think!

 

One thought on “Quick Ribs

  1. Pingback: Finger Licking Pork Spare Ribs | Laughter and Carbs

Leave a Reply

