Apple Shaped Wonder

Whenever I talk about having an apple shaped body, I always sing that song in my head. You know… “Shawty had them apple bottom jeans. Boots with the fur. The whole club was looking at her. She hit the floor. Next thing you know.  Shawty got low low low low low low low.” Don’t worry, you will have that stuck in your head for a bit. You are welcome!

But when I talk about having an apple shaped body, I am not talking about my booty. I am talking about having a bigger stomach than lower half.

apple-shaped

I have been fighting to lose my stomach and have now incorporated a lot more ab work into my workouts. It is a very frustrating process and sometimes I think that having an apple shape is the absolute worst shape.

This morning I stepped on the scale and I am 1.6 pounds away from my lowest weight in 8 years. That means I have lost 35 pounds this year. I went from a size 24 to now a size 18-20. I mean wow. Just wow. Letting that sink in for a minute…..

When I look at older pictures of me I can really see the difference. I can feel that my clothes are fitting looser. I was able to wear a tunic I wasn’t able to wear last year recently. I now have to wear a belt with all my jeans. And that is where I am having issues now.

Because the rest of me is losing weight and my stomach is starting to slim down but it is being the most stubborn, I am a really weird size. I bought a size 20’s a few weekends ago and they are too big. I should have been in a size 18 but sometimes 18’s give me a spare tire. I don’t know what size I am in anymore and because I am in between these two sizes, I keep having clothing issues. My work slacks are hanging off me in a weird way and some of my jeans slide down constantly. Or I get too tight of jeans and feel like a muffin. It is the most frustrating thing to have to deal with. I looked in the mirror the other day when I was wearing jeans that had always been tight on me, they were now loose and gave me this weird saggy butt. Hello, no.

I am loving losing so much weight but also dreading it. At least I knew what size I was 35 pounds ago. Thank you apple shaped body.

If I could live in maxi skirts, leggings and shorts right now, I would. I am in love with my yoga sweats (that are now even too big for me) and tank tops. I have been wearing leggings even though it is boiling hot out because I can layer and they don’t slide down my non existent hips. I just keep telling myself to be patient. Keep putting the work in. Keep slimming down. Keep doing the ab work. Eventually I will fight this apple body into some other kind of shape, like a strawberry or something.

So, what kind of body shape do you have?

Leave a Reply

