Love Wins

As I sit here reading all the out-pour of support on gay rights and I read the beautiful words of the Supreme court justices, I feel hope for the first time in a long time. Am I gay? No. But I am someone who strongly believes in equal rights. I believe everyone and everything (animals included) should have the right to live their life to the fullest. Just because we don’t understand someone’s preference or choices doesn’t make them wrong.
With that being said, I am a Libra, I always look at both ends of the scale. I do understand that there is the argument, if we make gay marriage legal what about underage marriage or multiple spouses? We are opening the doors to other kinds of marriage which will destroy the institution of marriage. First of all, I don’t see anything wrong with multiple spouses if they are okay with it and it is all mutual. If a man REALLY wants to take on that many wives or vice versa, um, have fun. I am barely able to handle one spouse. As for marrying a child, you are talking about someone who can not consent or even understand the constitution of marriage. I was 22 years old when I got married and hello, I still don’t understand marriage completely. But let’s not even TALK about the fact that a minor can get married if they have legal consent from the parents. Oy vey. You want to claim something is ruining the institution of marriage, how about we start with THAT!
Image result for supreme court ruling quotes gay marriage
What legalizing gay marriage is saying in my opinion is, you two love each other, you both are consenting adults who understand what getting married means and still want to participate in being married. What an amazing thing to fight for. Marriage is just a huge shout out to your partner, look at how much I love you, I put a ring on it aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand signed a legally binding contract.
What really burns my biscuits up is that there are some people taking away from the joy of this day. Making really hateful and negative comments. I guess it still shocks me that there are still people rallying against gay marriage, claiming it will make their marriage contract a joke, that God is not okay with gay people getting married and that they will get a divorce if it becomes legal. Yeah, I am pretty sure divorce is a sin as well. You can’t pick and choose things out of the bible like an all you can eat religious buffet. Thou shall not cast stones. Or better yet, those that live in glass houses should not cast the first stone.

Image result for gay marriage quotes

I have always stood by the opinion that straight marriages are destroying the institution of marriage more than anyone else could, why not give other people the chance to destroy it as well. I mean come on, what is sacred in marriage anymore? We get divorces. We break our vows. We cheat. We beat our spouses. We are flawed as human beings. No one is perfect. Marriage hasn’t been a respected institution since women started marrying a guy just for his money and men started marrying women because they have huge boobs.

Image result for gay marriage quotes

But again, that is my opinion. I don’t want to force you into liking gay marriage if you don’t like it. I just don’t think you should make horrible comments on social media and dampen the festive mood around this joint.

With all that being said, I want to say thank you Supreme Court, you make me proud to call myself a legal professional today. I am overjoyed and absolutely excited to welcome anyone to the joys (and sometimes sorrow) of being married!! 

Leave a Reply

