A Budge in the Scale

I have been stuck at the same weight for months now. It would blink up at me every time I stepped on the scale, mocking me. I knew why, I was stress eating, emotional eating, letting my feelings make me want to shove chocolate bunnies in my mouth. Yeah, I was working out but my eating was seriously lacking. I knew it. It was there in my doctors face when she told me to really work on eating low carb and reducing those sugars. It was there in the way my slacks weren’t fitting comfortably anymore for work. It was there in the mirror when my face had somehow gotten rounder. It was there, staring at me, no amount of exercise was going to work off what I was trying to eat away.

Image result for emotional eating quotes

In this last week I have made some huge changes. These changes have been hard but incredibly they have also lifted a huge burden off my shoulders that had been sitting there weighing me down. I haven’t wanted to stress eat in almost 8 days.

Image result for change is hard but necessary

I am adjusting though, struggling to get to sleep on time, struggling to drink enough water and struggling to work out. But my eating, my eating is on point. AND because of that, that number on the scale finally budged by…

4.4 pounds

Boy was I excited to see that. I did a little dance before getting dressed. The rest will fall into place eventually. I know it. I am not worried. But it just really shows me that if my eating is off, that scale will not budge. An important lesson to learn with PCOS!

I am feeling so excited, I thought I would share with you a day of eats… right now I am pretty much eating the same thing but I am really okay with it!! I try to stick to below 100 grams of carbs a day and stick to 1300-1500 calories a day. It is what works best for me and my PCOS.

Breakfast:

Some oatmeal, a yogurt, some water with crystal light mixed in and a big ice tea for the caffeine boost in the morning.
I have discovered the best oatmeal EVER. No one is paying me to say this, I just LOVE this damn oatmeal so much right now…
Image result for better oats 100 calories
These individual packets only have 18 grams of carbs each and 100 calories. I am not kidding you. They also only take 90 seconds in a microwave and you can use the packet to measure out the water you need. I have never been so excited about oatmeal each morning before. I never used to like eating in the morning but each morning I get to my desk, pull out my oatmeal and immediately go heat up a packet for breakfast. The love for this oatmeal is STRONG!! 
Image result for oikos triple zero
My yogurt also makes me extremely happy. First off, only a $1, um YEAH! Second off, only 80 grams of carbs and 120 calories as long as you don’t branch into the fruit on the bottom or desert type yogurts. I just stick to simple flavors and triple zero, which keeps me below my carb range.  I just stumbled upon them in the dairy section one day and I have been buying them in bulk ever since. 
In between meals I snack on black olives, pistachios and cantaloupe. 
Lunch lately has been roasted vegetables with kielbasa sausage. On Sunday I roasted a bunch of random vegetables, butternut squash, mini eggplants and mini bell peppers. I just tossed them in the oven in bigger chunks at 375 degrees with some seasoning and olive oil. Then I sauteed some kielbasa to add in and voila LUNCH.
I was a little worried about hating it the second day in but actually I am still loving it. Roasted veggies taste so much better than steamed any day of the week. I will be doing this until I get sick of it. 
Dinner is usually a protein and some vegetables. On Sunday I made a HUGE batch of the most amazing ribs you have ever tasted in your life (recipe to come soon) and ate those literally for 3 nights of dinner with a few ears of corn. Last night I finally ran out and made two nights worth of salsa chicken with Brussels sprouts. My new trick is to cook a couple dinners in one sitting so that the next night I don’t have to cook again. Trust me, it helps a lot for those nights that I am just exhausted. Not to mention, no dishes the second night, BAM efficient! 
So there are my eats lately. Nothing fancy, all good simple food. I am really enjoying eating healthy. Last night I debated going out to grab something real quick because after running a bunch of errands I didn’t want to cook. But I have been feeling so much better, so instead, I just cooked up the salsa chicken and steamed some Brussels sprouts. It was definitely the better choice. I am learning to enjoy the process of cooking and picking out fresh food. I never understood how much I actually like cooking and knowing all the ingredients that went into my food. It makes a difference! 
Image result for clean eating quotes
Image result for clean eating quotes
Image result for clean eating quotes
Image result for clean eating quotes
3 thoughts on “A Budge in the Scale

Leave a Reply

