Last Weeks Workouts: I Broke up with the Gym

Happy Monday. I consider it a good Monday morning when I didn’t yell at the lady who got in my elevator this morning and held the door for every single person walking up. I went from being 8 minutes early to 4 minutes early. We have 6 elevators, I am sure they could have caught another one within a minute or so. There is a line between being polite and pissing off everyone in the elevator trying to get to their desks on time.

So let’s talk about workouts. Now that I am working out at home I have a lot of fun with my workouts and I have a lot more motivation. When I was working out at the gym I couldn’t get a machine and I never had a ton of fun competing with everyone. It ruined the whole experience for me. Plus I am away from my house and animals for too long anyways each day. I get up at 6 a.m., leave the house at 7 a.m., get to my desk by 7:30 a.m., don’t leave work again till 4:30 p.m and by the time I am done commuting it is 5 p.m. Don’t even ask me to do the 5 a.m. workouts, there are some people who rock that and I just can’t. I hate mornings. So I workout after work. I have a system, I get home, change into workout clothes, let all the dogs outside to run around and start dinner. While dinner is cooking I can workout and by the time it is done I can sit down to eat. Bam! Efficient and I am no longer fighting for machines or getting home at 6:30 p.m. I do not have kids at home and my husband usually gets home after me. So I also get the joy of having a quiet house to workout in distraction free.

Now I have some equipment I bought for great deals at yard sales. I have some hand weights, a kettlebell, some resistance bands, a stability ball and punching gloves/bag. I also have a few of my favorite workout DVD’s and YouTube on my BlueRay player. I use all of this stuff because I have a short attention span. I like to do several fun quick workouts in one session. I also do run training on the days that it isn’t raining or pitch dark when I get home. Thinking of pitch dark, anyone else burning out on waking up to darkness and getting home to darkness? *sigh*

Let me give you a couple examples of some of the workouts I did last week…

Thursday: One of my favorite things to do is create my own workout. I have created a playlist on YouTube called dance, it starts off with a warm up song and moves into alternating between slower songs (but with still upbeat tempos) and faster songs. Each song I alternate between cardio dancing which could mean shaking my rump a whole bunch or doing some aerobics moves or belly dancing. Just keep moving. Then the next song I will do weights with the hand weights. I do this all the way through my playlist, takes about 25 minutes to finish all the songs. By that time I have worked up a good sweat and worked my muscles.

Friday: I warmed up with a short walk, about 20 minutes. Then I turned on an 11 minute beginners kettlebell workout. I am trying to perfect this kettlebell routine and get really good at it so I can start looking up more advances videos. Then I pulled out my Skinny Bitches Bootcamp DVD.

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B001GJOL5E&asins=B001GJOL5E&linkId=TPXKP4WXH72DRUY5&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

This is one of my favorite DVD’s. The ladies are hilarious. The commentary is well worth it and the moves will make you sore. Now there is the full 30 minute boot-camp workout or you can do the 5×5’s. I chose the 5×5’s on Friday. Basically it is 5 minutes targeting either arms, booty, legs, abs or yoga. I ended up doing all 5.

Saturday: I was all about the legs and booty on Saturday. Operation grow booty is in full effect. I worked out with my favorite lady, Autumn Calabrese. She is awesome. Her workout videos on YouTube are fun and challenging.

I started off with her Kettlebell leg blaster, moved on to her ballet legs, switched over to her 7 minute bigger booty workout (but skipped the end because she was using equipment I didn’t have) and finished with her poolside workout. When she did things with steps or boxes, I modified, I used my couch or tapped my toe in front of me. Then just for fun I did a 10 minute HIIT low impact cardio workout by another fun lady. I sweated a whole bunch and was SORE. I felt every inch of it. On Sunday when I was getting out of the car I could feel it as well.

I have a lot of fun with these workouts and the biggest difference is I WANT TO WORK OUT, every single day. I find myself looking at the clock at 3:30 p.m. and thinking, I am that much closer to being able to throw on my workout clothes and throw on a workout video. It gives me the variety I crave and the fun I want. Dinner can cook in the oven. The dogs get to run around. I don’t feel guilty for having everyone cooped up while I spend an hour fighting for machines at the gym. I don’t feel self conscious in my workout shorts or tank tops. If I need to rest or pant like a dog it is no big deal because no one can see me. For me it is a win win. Who says you can’t get a great workout at home??

So do you do at home workouts, what do you do?

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B001R3YRH6&asins=B001R3YRH6&linkId=IMFBX3ROLEQVSITQ&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B002VM7FI0&asins=B002VM7FI0&linkId=2GZBHYWJJ3YF7OHZ&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

6 thoughts on “Last Weeks Workouts: I Broke up with the Gym

  1. What an awesome workout at home plan! I have zero motivation to work out at home. Some days it is all I can do to drag myself out of bed early for a run. I might have to use the youtube playlist trick!

  2. When I workout at home, I typically do Leslie Sansone walks, zumba (DVD), PopSugar or Bikini Girls (even though I'd never wear one, hahaha) on YouTube, or just grooving around to dance. When it's nice, dog walking is part of this.

    I only do the dreadmill at the gym and I only go because MFD goes and it's something we do together 2-3 times a week.

  3. The YouTube playlist is a great trick. It pumps me up and gets me moving. I always felt guilty going to the gym because it meant the dogs had to stay inside longer and dinner would be later. Now I don't feel so guilty because the dogs get outside time and dinner can cook while I work out.

Leave a Reply

