I Rocked This Weekend

Anyone else getting slightly burnt out on winter? I wake up and it is dark. I work inside an office building all day. I get off work and there goes the sun again. The only time I see the sun anymore is on the weekends. I am ready to start seeing the sun again. Thinking of weekends, mine was chalk full of healthy things. The best part was weighing in on Sunday and seeing a loss. The worst was having to deal with a few PCOS symptoms that snuck up on me. I have good days and bad days with this health condition. Whenever I change my routine a bit (add in more exercise, clean up my diet) it always takes a week or so for my PCOS to stabilize out again.

Weigh in…

-4.2 Pounds

That makes a total loss of 6.2 pounds so far this year. Woot Woot! That is pretty exciting stuff after not losing any weight for 3 months.

Workouts…

I am okay with not having a gym membership right now. One day I will need one but for now I am having a lot of fun with my at home workouts. This weekends workouts consisted of a routine I created. I built a whole playlist of dance music on YouTube starting with Beyonce’s Drunk in Love because it is a good warm up. Then I dance for one song, just doing whatever feels fun and keeps me in movement (little bit of cardio). Then when Iggy Azalea’s Work song comes on, I pick up my hand weights and kettle bell because that song always pumps me up!

(That is my fierce face, it is okay to laugh at it, I did)
I bust out the weights the entire song. Then alternate each song after that between cardio (dancing) and strength (weights). Sort of my own version of a HIIT or bootcamp workout that alternates strength with cardio. Kicks my butt and I am pouring down sweat by the time I run out of songs. Not to mention the soreness. But above all it is fun and I find myself wanting to workout. I woke up each morning rearing to throw on my compression clothes and get to it. That is how you know you have a good workout.
Weekend eats…
I ate really clean this weekend which is something to be proud of. Normally weekends mean a bit of splurging but I honestly didn’t even feel like splurging. Breakfast on Saturday was an egg scramble with cheddar, feta and kalamata olives. While lunch was a snack lunch of hard boiled eggs, apples, cheddar cheese, black olives and kalamata olives. Both were super simply and easy. Seriously. Great throw together low carb meals.
On Sunday I woke up with a pancake craving and decided to try another low carb pancake recipe. Now I already have one (if you check out my recipe tab) that involves protein powder but I love experimenting so I decided to try a banana one because well I had bananas that were seriously going bad. It just had 3 simple ingredients, 3 bananas, 6 eggs and 1/3 cup of coconut flour. I cut the recipe in half though because I could not eat all that. Blend it all together, heat up a skillet, add some coconut oil and cook pancakes. Seemed simple enough.
Except it wasn’t. It was a complete disaster. The pancakes wouldn’t flip and they didn’t have a real pancake taste to them. More of a banana and coconut taste. Not a great combination in a pancake.
Whoops. Oh well. Not every recipe can be a huge success. I will find another one and try again. I am always open for suggestions, anyone else have a low carb pancake recipe??
Also on Sunday evening I made a huge Greek salad. Super simple as well. 
Ingredients:
4 Cucumbers
1 cup of cherry tomatoes
1/2 a red onion
Kalamata Olives
Feta Cheese
Balsamic Vinegar
Olive Oil
Pepper
Directions:
Cut up cucumbers, tomatoes and onion. Add in kalamata olives, I like a lot so I add a lot and feta cheese, I also like a lot of feta. Sprinkle some pepper on top. Add as much olive oil and balsamic vinegar as needed for taste. Or you can get a separate bowl, whisk together the balsamic vinegar and olive oil till combined before pouring on top. I don’t feel the need to do that, I just sort of throw some on top and then mix it all together. 
Simple and follows that no lettuce salad thing I love. I ate it for dinner and had plenty to take with me to work for lunch. So for me it could go either way, lunch or dinner.
I am working on posting a salsa chicken recipe with a cream cheese twist next. So keep an eye out for it. Hope everyone else had a great weekend as well!!
What is your favorite low carb recipe? How was your weekend?

//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B00IXZ9UDW&asins=B00IXZ9UDW&linkId=ECBYH55KPTJPZ7GO&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B003P90K58&asins=B003P90K58&linkId=AC46QQRBRFWY5FTF&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B000I1BR6M&asins=B000I1BR6M&linkId=LMLLEPTY2DC2QBPJ&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B0061ZLTYY&asins=B0061ZLTYY&linkId=5ZFMOILPNWMETJZL&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true//ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=finaskime-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B003XFRGR4&asins=B003XFRGR4&linkId=HOPXVUJW4GLVOX3V&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

6 thoughts on “I Rocked This Weekend

Leave a Reply

