Let’s Talk About a No Lettuce Salad and a NSV

I am going to tell you a weird fact about me, I love salads but hate lettuce. Mostly because I am so darn picky about my lettuce. I do love restaurant salads because for some reason their lettuce is usually good. Perfect combination of crisp but not overly crisp. But at home I can never seem to duplicate it at all. I buy the big containers of spring mixes and I have to use them within a few days. They get too wilted for me or not crisp enough or get a funny bitter flavor. I just start hating the lettuce and cursing the day I bought it after less than a week. The catch 22 in all of this is that I like salads for lunch. They are convenient, I can throw them together at the last minute and they are low carb. Not to mention I make a killer dressing with olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette.

So what happens when you love salads for lunch but don’t want to deal with the crappy lettuce issue anymore? Where there is a will there is a way.

This fun creation is just a whole bunch of everything. I have salami, pepperoni, black olives, cheddar cheese, green bell pepper, red onion and cherry tomatoes. No lettuce and it still tastes amazing. I make my own homemade dressing as well. Just a bit of olive oil with some balsamic vinegar. You only need a little bit to coat the salad. Ta daaa. No wilted lettuce or bitter green stuff. I combine it with some low carb snacks, some kalamata olives in a small container, an apple and some salami with cream cheese. Keeps me on track with low carb and high protein eats. (If you wonder why I eat this way, check out this blog post and this one)
So yesterday was a bad day. 
Sometimes I hate working in such a big building because it feels like people are able to get away with far too much. On days like yesterday I contemplate becoming an independent paralegal but I always remember the next day that I like what I do and who I work with for the most part. After work, the bus decided to run late so it took me extra long to get home and I forgot my walking shoes so I had to walk the 5 blocks home in flats. Ouch. Trust me it hurt the knees and ankles. Then I came home and the hubs had forgot to buy chicken for the salsa chicken I was dying to try. Needless to say, by 6 p.m. my mood was more than sour.
Now normally this kind of crazy bad day would have sent me into emotional eating OVERLOAD. I would have ordered take out and bought desert. I would have filled my stomach so full it would have hurt. I would have used it as an excuse because if we have a bad day we can eat whatever right?? Wrong!! I just couldn’t do it yesterday. Nothing in me wanted to feel sick or eat till I exploded. So I made a different choice. I blasted music on YouTube as loud as the TV would go, changed into my yoga sweats and decided to tackle a project that had been sitting on my to do list for a week.
Within an hour I had my fridge scrubbed clean and all the old food things thrown away. I had all the clean clothes folded. I had the dishwasher unloaded. I had the dishes done. I had sang till my throat hurt and danced all around the house. After all that I sat down and killed some stuff on Mario Galaxy. Above all when I went to bed, calm, centered and without eating a ton of crap food I was proud of myself. I didn’t let a bad moment or a bad day completely de-rail me. I didn’t give in to the anxiety that threatened to overcome me. I didn’t eat sugar to compensate for crappy people. I let all that frustration go in a productive way without taking it out on anyone around me or eating ALL THE FOOD. That is a non scale victory that I can really celebrate.
So how do you handle your bad days?
Leave a Reply

