Show Us Your Books: What I Read in December

Okay, so I am still sick unfortunately but I couldn’t resist a link up with Life According to Steph and Jana Says. So while I am trying to stay awake on my lunch break, I thought I would show you my books for DECEMBER!!!

Life According to Steph

You can always follow me on GoodReads.

1. The Outcast Dead (Ruth Galloway Number 6) by Elly Griffiths: I loved this series when it first started, got burnt out in the middle and then this book lit my fire for the series again. It was amazing. Had me guessing from beginning to end. Gave just the right amount of personal mixed with fun mixed with mystery. Great book. Can’t wait for the 7th one now which should be out in 2015 I think.
2. Can We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast: Funny book. Not what I was expecting. Actually I didn’t realize it was by a cartoonist but in the end I laughed pretty hard still. Easy to relate to. It focused a lot on taking care of elderly parents, the joy, the pain, the heartbreak. 
3. The Sleepwalkers Guide to Dancing by Mira Jacob: The beginning was hard. I almost started hating the book but I pushed through and boy am I glad I did. It ended up being an amazing book that painted such a tale of a different culture living in America and different family values. Grief. Loss. Love. A young girl struggling with her identity and with loss. Trying to relate to her parents but also be her own person. All of that written in such a unique way. I really loved reading this book.
4. Blood Magick (The Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy #3) by Nora Roberts: I normally don’t read Nora Roberts but I picked up the first book in this series and fell in love with the characters. The writing is nice but it is not anything unique but the characters really made me love the series. This is the last book and I waited a LONG time for it. It felt rushed. You needed to have read the first two books to understand it. But it was good.
5. Starry Night by by Debbie Macomber: Short romance book. Sweet and cute. Predictable. But I wanted a nice romantic Christmas book and I found it.
6. Why My Third Husband Will Be a Dog: The Amazing Adventures of an Ordinary Woman by Lisa Scottoline: I laughed so hard at the spanx story in this book. Far too hard. I have been throwing in bits of non fiction into my reading lately and I have been on the look out for funny one’s, this one delivered. Fun short stories. Great read.
7. The Husband List (Culhane Family #2) by Janet Evanovich and Dorien Kelly: You ever add a book to your library que and don’t know why? Yeah when this one showed up I was a bit confused. I never read the first Culhane Family book. Anyways, I read it anyways because I love Janet Evanovich and it wasn’t a bad book. Fun fluff read. Nothing to be amazed by and nothing to turn your nose up at. 
So there you have it! What did you read in December???
10 thoughts on “Show Us Your Books: What I Read in December

  1. I enjoyed the first two of that trilogy. Looking forward to the last one. I will add it my que now.

    A while back you said you were reading a book that I picked up because of you and now I can't remember the title. Ha, found it, Shadow and Bone. Did you finish the trilogy? What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

