Crustless Spinach Quiche Recipe

I have been doing great at transitioning back into low carb eating and also with sticking to goal number 1 for 2015 of being more involved in cooking. Which is a good thing because the hubs has a cold and he has absolutely no spare energy after working all day to cook. Poor guy.

I discovered in the last week that I am sort of a fan of cooking. I always stuck by that I hated it and left the cooking up to my husband who is great in the kitchen. But this whole week I have discovered that it is really nice to get home, change into sweats, turn on music and gather together my ingredients for whatever recipe I am trying. Something about it calms my mind and gives me that transition I need to wind down from a long day. It also means my kitchen stays clean because my hubs believes cleaning while he cooks will make his food taste bad, I am not kidding. Me on the other hand, while dinner is cooking I do the dishes, sweep the floor, clean up the living room and play with the doggies.

My specialty is vegetarian dishes since I was raised by a vegetarian. I can cook simple meat like turkey burger but if it gets more complicated than that well I am clueless. We won’t talk about the chicken jerky incident (where I made chicken breasts into jerky by over cooking them) or the rubbery steaks incident. One day I shall learn to cook a great steak. One day.

Last night after checking my handy day planner (loving it so far) to see what I was cooking,  I turned on the music and gathered together the ingredients for a crustless quiche I wanted to try. It was my first time making a quiche ever. I made some tweaks to a recipe I found online and the only complaint I have is that I needed to wilt the spinach or get the excess water out of it a little better. As well as I am interested in finding a dairy free quiche. Turns out as I get older my stomach can’t even handle dairy cooked in food. Fun fun! So I will need to experiment with the recipe a bit more but it was great as it was too!! I was full and the husband gave me lots of compliments.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Ingredients:

Fresh mushrooms
Minced garlic
Butter or non stick spray or olive oil
Spinach (I used fresh but you could do frozen)
6 large eggs
1.5 cups of milk
Feta cheese
Grated parmesan
Shredded Mozzarella
Seasoning- salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. If you are using frozen spinach, start draining it. I used fresh and I kept it whole. So I might suggest wilting it and then squeezing the excess water out.

Rinse and thinly slice mushrooms. As many as you like. I am not a huge mushroom fan so I put in less.

In a skillet on medium heat, add a little bit of olive oil, throw in the thinly sliced mushrooms and cook until they release all there water (and also so there isn’t any water at the bottom of the pan), roughly 5-7 minutes. Throw in the garlic a few minutes after you put in the mushrooms, you don’t want the garlic to burn but still want it to get cooked.

Coat a pie dish with butter or a little olive oil (which I used) or some nonstick spray. In a separate bowl, while the mushrooms are cooking, mix eggs until smooth. Add a little seasoning, as much Parmesan as you want and the milk. Mix all together with a whisk. I had a deeper dish, so you can always cut down this recipe if you need to. I started off with 4 eggs and 1 cup of milk but it wasn’t enough.

Lay out spinach with any excess water squeezed out of it on the bottom of the dish or wilted, I am going to experiment with the spinach a bit next time. Over the top of the spinach, add in mushrooms and minced garlic mixture. Then add however much feta cheese you want. I like a lot. Season to taste.

Pour egg mixture into pie dish over the top of the spinach, mushrooms and feta. Shred some mozzarella on top and voila, place into the preheated oven and set a timer for 45 minutes. I ended up cooking mine for 55 minutes but basically you want the top brown and the center firm.

I added some sour cream on top and it was amazing.

I look forward to working with this recipe more. I could probably add in different kinds of vegetables and maybe experiment with not using milk. But for now, it is a great recipe and tasted really yummy. Both the husband and I ate two slices each. Yum! The best part, low carb, healthy and filling. All around winning!!

So give it a try and let me know what you think. You can actually cook yours for breakfast if you want or you can be a rebel like me and make it into a dinner!!

2 thoughts on “Crustless Spinach Quiche Recipe

Leave a Reply

