Show Us Your Books

Life According to Steph

Okay, so I love to read. I read a lot. Actually you can add me on Good Reads if you would like and I will add you back since I love new suggestions for books. Anyways, I thought it would be fun to link up with Jana Says and Life According to Steph to talk about what we read in November. So here goes my list for November… 
1. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Mariarty- I had heard amazing things about this book, amazing, so I was really excited when the long waiting list at the library finally called my number. I was especially excited because I loved the book, What Alice Forgot by the same author. But I was so disappointed. The beginning started off great and then it got predictable. Over and over again I saw what was going to happen before it happened. The dialogue was great but it also dragged on for days. It could have ended well before it actually did. 
2. Sanctum by Madeleine Roux- This is the second book in the asylum series (the first one being Asylum of course) and I enjoyed this second book far more than the first one (though the first one was great as well). It kept me guessing till the end. It had just enough dark in it to give me goosebumps when reading but also enough knowledge in it to keep me thinking. The only complaints I had was sometimes I had to go back a few paragraphs because suddenly there would be a turn that was hard to keep up with because it would seem so random. Also some parts were pretty horrifying, the author is not afraid to really shake things up and get dark. I really loved this series though especially since I was looking for something similar to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Shadow and Bone series, both of which I loved.
3. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella- I really like this author’s Shopaholic series, so I was excited to read this book. It was definitely chick literature but I really like an easy going book at times. It was fun to read. Typical fluff material. Fun. Light. A few laughs. A little too long but easy enough to read.

4. Fly Away by Kristin Hannah- I got this book after seeing it on the NY Times Bestseller list and didn’t realize it was book 2 of a series called Firefly Lane. Whoops. But the author did a great job at explaining things so I never felt lost or like I really needed to read the first book to be honest. It was an intense book from beginning to end and I cried several times. It was very dark, each character was struggling with something huge and deep. Some parts were dragged out and some parts were too short. It is not a book that leaves you feeling fluffy or happy at the end. It is intense from beginning to end.

5. Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella- Typical Chick literature again because I needed a happy book after Fly Away but I was so sadly disappointed by this book. Shallow. Dumb. Predictable. Slow. Boring. Horrifying. All of the above. But it had a happy ending.

6. Can We Talk About Something More Pleasant by Roz Chast- Famous New Yorker cartoonist created a book about dealing her aging parents. Very funny and at times heartbreaking. Easy to relate to and just a fun quick read that I got through in one night. I had a lot of fun with it though and had to read a few passages out loud to my husband often since they were so funny.

So what did you read this month? Any book suggestions?
6 thoughts on “Show Us Your Books

  1. I totally agree with you on The Husband's Secret. I waited over 6 months for the e-book from my library and I knew what was going to happen the whole way through the book. I was very disappointed.

Leave a Reply

