September Goals

I didn’t weigh myself this week. I made this decision because we have extended the challenge due to a long weekend my Mom planned and I didn’t want her to worry about weighing or anything while she was having fun. We all just have an extra week, so it isn’t like it was really long extension, just a little extension. I plan on weighing in next Monday and not obsessing about the scale this week. I found myself wanting to step on the scale almost daily during the last couple of weeks and it was driving me a little bonkers.

So each month I try to set goals for myself. Some times the goal is to simply to make it through the month and other times they are more complicated like complete the beginners yoga series and work on loving my body more. This month I wanted simple goals I could work on.

September Goals…

Goal Number 1: Put myself back on my sleeping schedule, even on the weekends. While I was in college I didn’t have a choice but to work full time during the day and go to school at night and I stayed up late most evenings to complete homework tasks or study for exams. By the time my two years were done, I was a wreck. Once I graduated, I was struggling to actually get a good amount of sleep still because of the crazy schedule I was used to. So I put myself on a sleep schedule in order to be able to function again and surprisingly it worked. Suddenly I was able to become a morning person. Scary I know, I hate mornings as much as the next person. But over the last month I have been slipping on my sleep schedule again. It started with a weekend, I stayed up a little later to watch a movie and before I knew it I had thrown my body off completely. Right now I am EXHAUSTED. It has been several weeks since I have gotten a full nights sleep. Even on the weekends I am not catching up, Bella Rue only sleeps in slightly, her little bladder is trained to our weekly schedule and by 7:30 a.m. she is doing the potty dance on our faces to go out. Not to mention my body is getting pretty used to waking up early as well. But it is more than getting 8 hours of sleep, I learned that my body did really well when I put it to bed at 9 p.m. and lights out at 9:30 p.m. So that is my goal, to go to bed by 9 p.m. and lights out at 9:30 p.m. for the next month. Hopefully I can start feeling like a somewhat rested human being after a week or so.

Goal Number 2: Swim. I have done many different workouts. I am not a firm runner or biker or walker. I try and do everything. Because I hate cardio so much I find that I have to switch it up and not only switch it up I have to find what works for me in that moment. Last month I had a lot of fun exploring HIIT workouts on the elliptical, with some walking and a couple swims thrown in. This month though, I want to get in the pool at least 3-4 times a week. Why? My big vacation is in 6 weeks and I want to be a strong swimmer before I snorkel in the ocean. I mean, I can swim and I am not a weakling in the pool BUT I want to be a much stronger swimmer. The snorkeling tours can go for 1-2 hours sometimes and I want the endurance to last. Plus not to mention swimming feels good right now on my joints. I will still be lifting weights and walking and maybe even doing some HIIT workouts on the elliptical, but I want to really concentrate on swimming for cardio until vacation time. Do you have any favorite swim workouts I can give a try?

 That is it. Just 2. I really need a simple month.

So what are your goals for September??













2 thoughts on “September Goals

Leave a Reply

