Two Week Challenge…

You ever have a week get away from you? Well this week has gotten away from me. I meant to write this post on Monday aaaaaaaaaaand now it is Wednesday. Whoops.

First of all I just want to update you all on my beginners yoga series, it is still AMAZING. I am going to be so sad when this course ends in 4 weeks. So sad. I might have to take it again, who knows. The teacher is still super amazing, patient and observant. I talked to her after class about my T-Rex arms, basically I am a tall girl but I got short arms and it is hard to reach my legs to twist them when lying on the floor because of it. She gave me ways to deal with that issue and made me feel a lot better about it. There is absolutely no shame in her class about things you can’t do and that makes me feel really great. Looking forward to tomorrows class and exploring some more moves.

Also this weekend I was very lucky that someone at work overheard me talking about how much I wanted to see the sold out show of Mary Poppins and because they are a season ticket holder who couldn’t make the showing, they gave my husband and I tickets. It was INCREDIBLE. If you get a chance to see a live version of Mary Poppins, please go see it.I absolutely love Mary Poppins and must have watched it so many times when I was growing up, singing along to all the songs. The live version is SO MUCH BETTER! They did an amazing job. Even the husband really enjoyed it.

And afterwards I got Thai food with my mom. I have missed her and I’s weekly dinner dates since she moved away (come back MOMMA! LOL), so it was great to see her and we stayed up far too late talking by the fire pit at her hotel.
It was a great treat weekend because starting on Monday we started our challenge. 
The challenge is this… My mom and her husband vs. Me and my husband, which couple can lose the most weight in two weeks. We clean up our diets, exercise regularly and that is all the rules we have. Personally I think it was a ploy on my Moms part to help me clean up my emotional eating that had over run my life for two months but I will take it, I love a good challenge and she knows it. Whichever couple loses has to send money to the other couple to get pedicures. I have been planning for this for a week. Shopping and buying everything I would need to eat 100% clean. I actually started eating clean a week before this challenge started so it wouldn’t be such a shock to my system.
And come Monday I was ready. I changed my workouts a bit and instead did my boot camp DVD both Monday and Tuesday, but for the most part I am sticking to the above board for the week.
Monday was a good, sweaty workout to the boot camp DVD and some pork steaks with steamed vegetables made by me. I managed to only eat 83 carbs for the day. My goal right now is to stay below 100 grams a day and then eventually I would like to get below 50 grams. My body just does better with a high protein and low carb/sugar diet. Something about PCOS doesn’t agree with sugars and carbs. Probably that pesky insulin resistance. 

Excuse the ugly face, it was a hard workout because I hadn’t worked out in a couple of weeks. But I powered through it. As a side note, you ever wonder why they only fill the protein containers half way up? Seems like such a waste of space!
Tuesday was another shot at the boot camp DVD, which I did a LOT better at but was still sore from Monday. A nice protein filled lunch of tuna, egg salad and pickles. Plus a healthy dinner of pesto chicken with zucchini because the catfish was still frozen solid. 
(I look a tiny bit demented in this pic, probably because I was super sore)
I also discovered last night night that if you place 1 tablespoon of coconut flower, 1 tablespoon of chocolate protein powder, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon of honey, 1 egg and 1 tablespoon of coconut milk in a cup, throw it in the microwave for 2 minutes or so, you create this Paleo version of the mug cake.
Okay so it doesn’t look amazing but it wasn’t bad to eat. That stuck me around 85 carbs for the day. Not bad. Still sticking to below 100 grams. I haven’t calculated today’s eats, so I don’t know how many carbs I have taken in.
I got to tell you, I feel a lot better. Last weeks clean up combined with this week so far are making me feel a lot better. I have more energy, no crashes at 3 p.m., no headaches and no indigestion. Not to mention my acne is clearing up and nothing new is sprouting up. I can’t wait to see how much weight I can drop after two weeks. 
Since the challenge with my Mom is only about pounds lost between the couples, the husband and I decided to do another challenge on the side involving our inches and BMI. We haven’t worked out what the other person gets but we are working on that. 
Last night there was a little bit of stress and my knee jerk reaction was to go get ice cream, but the husband worked with me and helped me work through it without the ice cream. He just kept telling me that I didn’t need the ice cream but that I wanted the ice cream. What a smart man.
Beginning Stats:

Weight: 325
Arms: 16 inches
Thigh: 29 inches
Waist: 55 inches
Hips: 55 inches
Chest: 57 inches
Neck: 20 inches

Whew that is hard to put that out there. In May I was still rocking 305 pounds, I gained 20 pounds in a little less than two months. Eeck. Time to work it off and win these challenges!!! It is a gym night tonight and I find myself looking forward to it. I want to throw some weights around and rock that elliptical. Maybe I will even get to steal a lane for swimming tonight. 

6 thoughts on “Two Week Challenge…

  1. LOL! Thank you! I need all the encouragement I can get.

    Let's see if next week's meal plan can be just as good 🙂 I didn't get a swim in sadly, I forgot my swim cap but I got a killer arm workout in instead.

Leave a Reply

