Did I just do that…

I just signed up for my first ever 5k. Something I have been itching to do for a long time. Ever since I started this journey to be exact but I never had the confidence before.

But lately I have grown tired of my baby steps and have craved a challenge. Something needs to shake me out of the 300’s since I have been stuck at 310 for months now after dropping 30 pounds. So I talked to my husband and he agreed to do it with me. And since it is cheaper to go with a group and I really need the push to not let anyone in my group down, I start emailing/texting people. My amazing sister agreed to do it with me and even came up with a great idea. Why not represent PCOS awareness? Well why not indeed. So that is what we are doing. I created a group, asked people to sign up with me (I need 4 people or more) and paid my fees. Whew, how exciting. Now I just need to design our t-shirts, train and buy a teal tutu. It is going to be so much fun!

Now I can walk it. It isn’t a strict running 5k but I really want to run it as much as possible. It is on my bucket list to run one 5k. If I hate running after that I won’t do it anymore. If I fall in love with running well that will just be so much better now won’t it?!

How will I be doing it? Well through Couch to 5k. I am starting my first day on Tuesday and will run every other day from there.

Week Workout 1 Workout 2 Workout 3
1 Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes. Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

Supposedly they will have me running a 5k in 9 weeks if I follow their program. Now I have started the Couch to 5k program before but I have never had a goal this big. So the stakes are really high for me to complete it and I am really motivated. 
Right around the time I was looking at signing up for the 5k and trying to make the decision, an email was sent around my work. A local gym was offering a discount to my work and offering a great sign up deal. Now this is a big gym. They have a variety of locations to go to, fun activities including a rock wall and a friendly staff. Ever since the husband stepped on the scale and learned that he gained 20 pounds since he started his desk job, he has been motivated as well and begging to join a gym. So I buckled. I joined. It has been raining a lot and I need to be able to train rain or shine. 
So far I have been a few times and it has been fun. I missed all the strength training machines and weights. I loved working out at home but I don’t have half of the fun toys that the gym has. I have always felt super self conscious working out at a gym but one of my goals this year is to push out of those feelings. And like magic, Old Navy was having a sale on workout clothes. So I bought me a few things to feel even better about going to the gym. Because the right outfit can make anyone feel amazing.
I am equal parts petrified of running this 5k and equal parts excited. Long gone are the days where I thought walking a mile was hard, now I whip out over 8 miles usually on the weekends. And I promised myself last year, once I can walk a 5k I will start training to run a 5k. So here we are, I can now walk a 5k, let’s see if I can run a 5k. 
Stay tuned!
4 thoughts on “Did I just do that…

  1. I did my first 5k last June walked/jogged. I am signed up for two 5k's this year and plan to sign up for more. My goal is to run the entire thing at least once. I plan on starting the Couch to 5k again this weekend.

Leave a Reply

