8 week update…

“I have now stopped smoking for 2 months, 2 days, 12 hours, 37 minutes, 20 seconds. That translates into 1,170 cigarettes NOT smoked, for a savings of $395.05! At 5 minutes per cigarette I have increased my life expectancy by 4 days, 1 hour, 32 minutes, 35 seconds.”

I have hit the 8 week mark with relief.

Within 6 hours

  • Your heart rate slows and your blood pressure decreases.

Within a day

  • Almost all of the nicotine is out of your bloodstream.
  • The level of carbon monoxide in your blood has dropped and oxygen can more easily reach your heart and muscles.     
  • Your fingertips become warmer and your hands steadier.

Within a week

  • Your sense of taste and smell may improve.
  • Your lungs’ natural cleaning system is starting to recover, becoming better at removing mucus, tar and dust from your lungs (exercise helps to clear out your lungs).
  • You have higher blood levels of protective antioxidants such as vitamin C.

Within 2 months

  • You’re coughing and wheezing less.
  • Your immune system is beginning its recovery so your body is better at fighting off infection.
  • Your blood is less thick and sticky and blood flow to your hands and feet has improved.

It has been super tough but these last couple of weeks have brought a lot of relief. I can eat again without feeling that horrible nausea’s feeling. I can move easier. My lungs feel better. I smell better. My teeth aren’t as yellow. I just feel better in general. Not so worn down and beat up like before.

The only thing I am still struggling with is anxiety and stress. I have been working really hard on walking daily, taking bubble baths, spending more time doing the things I love and keeping my home environment low on stress. My husband has been really my rock. I have been relying on his help so much and he has stepped up. If I feel panicked he talks me down, if I need something done he does it, he helps with the chores and deals with the animals. It has been really great to have him around.

I have noticed that certain things make my anxiety really bad…

1. Sleep. If I don’t sleep it is really hard to keep the anxiety back.

2. Sugar. If I have too much sugar or greasy foods my anxiety kicks up a few notches.

3. The people around me getting worked up over things.

4. If I am over done, like not enough down time.

This morning from exhaustion after a bad night’s sleep and a little bit of drama the night before, I found myself waking up with a panicked feeling in my stomach. It didn’t help that I woke up over analyzing instead of letting go, which is something I still struggle with. I put myself in a hot shower immediately and managed to shake it till I had to take the light rail system. Now I used to ride the light rail from my old house but that was from the opposite direction. So you can imagine it freaks me out a bit worrying about missing my stop. I spent the whole light rail trip in a panic, I had forgotten my book, didn’t know where my stop was and there was a homeless lady two seats over yelling at herself. I thought about getting off and walking to my work instead of riding all the way to my stop but instead I just hung on. Turns out it wasn’t so bad and I didn’t miss my stop. Which the husband called and checked with me as I walked the block to my work.
So far the rest of the day has been busy but going by smoothly. I am really looking forward to going home, finishing up my knitting project, taking a walk with the doggies (and husband) and the getting to bed at a decent time. 
I really feel that I have gotten through the worst of becoming a non smoker. Some times I catch myself a little stressed and wanting to light up. But instead I shake myself and list off everything I have gained from quitting smoking. It really isn’t so bad. Each day I get stronger and firmer in being a non smoker.
Leave a Reply

