Shhhh I am reading…

I have been purposely leaving my last few weekends open. It isn’t that I don’t like being busy and catching up with everyone I missed while I was in school, it is more like I have this need to see my house more than just during bed time and my PCOS often times lets me know that it needs my body to spend some time not running around constantly. I am also getting the impression that the B kitty has been missing me.

He is all cute until he keeps knocking my phone out of my hands and sticking his sharp toes toes into my bare skin.
Since the housekeeper came yesterday, all I had to do this morning was run the dishwasher, start a load of clothes and find the stuff she moved around. I threw open all the windows and watched as the silly dogs played outside.
(I love how the window screen made it look like there were a ton of tiny boxes around her)
I love these kind of mornings and I find myself happily singing at the top of my lungs, doing crazy dancing, sliding across the floors while making myself some tea (without any sweetener except a little creamer) and a bowl of granola with raisins. 
I have a shopping list to make with a menu plan for next week (to keep me on track with eating), the husband wants to go to the movies to see At The World’s End when he gets off work and there are walks to be taken with the two monster dogs. It is a happy Saturday around this house, with a cool breeze flowing through the open windows and music playing in the background.
I haven’t been working out this week due to severe dehydration that came about from food poisoning or something along those lines. My stomach is still a little sensitive so I have been giving it a break. I also haven’t been eating, seriously, unwillingly I have been following a 500 calorie intake diet. Everything hurt my stomach so it got to the point where most days this week I was only eating soup and crackers once a day. That means I don’t have any workouts or recipes to share like usual. Sad I know. But I have something BETTER to talk about, seriously waaaayy better, music and books. 
What are you listening to?
I seem to get stuck on the same few songs for weeks on end. I listen to them so many times it drives my husband crazy and then I get burnt out, so I start hunting for new songs and the process starts all over again. Currently my obsessions:
Brave-Sara Bareilles
This is gospel- Panic At The Disco
Almost Lover- A Fine Frenzy
Arms- Christina Perri
Bitter Sweet Symphony- The Verve
Demons- Imagine Dragons
Done- The Band Perry
Roar- Katy Perry
Strip Me- Natasha Beddingfield

What are you reading?
I seem to be finishing books pretty fast these days. During my insomnia stint I read the 3 most recent Sookie Stackhouse novels (True Blood books for you TV lovers). Dead Reckoning, Deadlocked and Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris. It is a guilty pleasure of mine. The first few books were terribly written and had all kinds of little errors but I fell in love with them anyways. The newer ones are better but I do have to admit that I am just kind of a vampire fan. I read all the books in Anne Rice’s vampire series by the time I was in High School (and maybe after) and must have watched Interview With the Vampire so many times I had it mesmerized. If you want a purely pleasure read and don’t mind some vampire love, you could give them a try as well.
Before I read the Sookie novels I read some memoirs. Not usually my first choice in books but my mom gave them to me and I felt obligated to give them a try. The first one I settled in with was The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson. Great humor, great story teller and I loved the way he talked about the 50’s. Made me almost want to live in those times. He just had a way of painting out a really great story with lots of humor thrown in. I loved the book and would suggest reading it.
The next one I read was, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. I laughed so hard I almost peed my pants. I had to stop reading it in the bathtub because water would slosh all over the floor every single time. If you want to laugh and can enjoy some southern humor, read it. I gave it to my sister afterwards and she sent me a text letting me know she was absolutely loving the book as well.
The last one I read was a book called Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris. Not a bad read but also after reading two very funny memoirs this one was on a more serious note. He threw in some fiction stories he had written as well and they sometimes left me shaking my head. I talked to a co-worker and she suggested I try some of his older stuff, she said the newer stuff has gotten a little dark. But I wouldn’t say it was a horrible book just not something I personally would want to read again.
I just finished the first Dexter book (per the husband insisting I read it), Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay. It was captivating. I usually hate murder mysteries but I find myself liking this one. It was easy to read, very descriptive and in my opinion a little too short. I was shocked by the ending and wasn’t the biggest fan of the last epilogue chapter. It didn’t feel like it explained enough to me. I haven’t seen the TV shows so I don’t know how they compare though.
I recently downloaded a few new books on my Kindle because Amazon was having a sale:
Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay (2nd book in Dexter series)
Crazy Little Thing by Tracy Brogan
Pig Island by Mo Hayder
When Parents Text by Lauren Kaelin and Sophie Fraioli
The Magician’s Elephant by Katie Dicamillo
I love reading and it has always been a way for me to relax. Nothing beats sitting on the couch in my sweats with the windows open, a cup of tea by me and getting lost in another world. 
What are you reading? What are you listening to?
2 thoughts on “Shhhh I am reading…

  1. I feel ya! Summer has been so busy with camping, family events, mini trips, wedding planning, etc. I've forced myself to keep a few weekends unbooked to just chill and lay around. Catch up on tv and chores…

    I read Jenny Lawson's books too and it was pretty funny!

Leave a Reply

