Knowledge is power…

Ever have a strong craving for something sweet but your husband packet away your blender to make a healthy milkshake and took the car so you couldn’t run to the store for eggs? Yep me too, last night I had the craziest craving for something sweet. I spent an hour online researching no egg cookies, low sugar cookies and every version of those searches you can think of. I couldn’t really find anything I liked, so I created my own oatmeal recipe based off of the different ones I found.

I threw in some sugar, melted butter, flour, oatmeal, cinnamon and vanilla extract. Mixed by hand because as you guessed it, the husband packed away the mixer stuff as well. So I put the oven on 350 and threw the first batch in. The first batch melted all over the cookie sheet, whoops. So I added a little more flour and the second batch came out good. Shocks of all shocks it tasted very yummy as well.

Good morning. Guess how I was woke up?
Creepy eye!

Red dog was ready for me to be awake and give her belly a rub. This dog melts my heart! Best way to wake-up on a lovely Monday morning off. Thank you MLK.
I have a serious love for leeks right now and it is getting serious. So I decided to make some potato, leek and shallot soup. Again I searched for what I wanted but couldn’t find it, so I created my own version based off of a bunch of recipes I found and ingredients I had. 
Ingredients:
  • Shallots
  • Leeks
  • Gold Potatoes
  • Chicken broth
  • Whipping cream
  • Butter
  • Olive oil
  • Spices
  • Chives
I first softened the potatoes in a pan with butter and olive oil. Once those were softened not browned I placed them in the crock-pot. Then I cut up the leeks and shallots to soften in a pan as well, again not browning.
Threw that all in the crock-pot with a can of chicken broth, some cream and spices. Now the crock-pot is sitting on the kitchen table on low. Once it is cooked in probably 5-7 hours I will convince the husband to open the damn box with my mini processor to blend it all up, put some chives on top and call it soup. Hopefully good soup. 
The smell of the leeks are making me very happy!!
While doing this I started watching, Hungry For Change, a documentary on food I found on Netflix. I have to suggest this video for anyone trying to get healthy, seriously just watch it. I believe in being educated and this video had it all. Information about food, emotional eating and just general knowledge on so much having to do with obesity. 
“For the first time in 1000 years, the children of this generation are not expected to live as long as their parents.”
“Your diet soda can cause neurological problems.”
“The average American consumes 28-150 grams of sugar per day compared to 15 grams in the 1900′s.”
I really want to educate myself constantly about what I am eating and how it effects my body. I am one of those knowledge is power kind of people. 
“Obesity is a solution to our emotional problems.”
“Use green veggies to detox your body from sugars.”
“If you are upset don’t eat.”
I have been feeling so horrible lately that all I want is a little relief from the headaches, stomach aches, dizziness, anemia, obesity and swollen lymph nodes. I am starting to slowly get it, what I put in my body actually matters. What I am eating is controlling how I feel. 
“Turn I want it but can’t have it, to I can have it but I don’t want it.”
“Most eating is a way of filling an emotional void. When we look at when we started struggling with obesity in our life it is usually linked to an event that caused us emotional damage.”
The tips in this documentary were amazing. They spoke directly to me and I am sure millions out there just like me. Attacking the emotional reasons we eat unhealthy or smoke cigarettes or sit on the couch constantly. The video talked about eating high carbohydrates that turn into sugar in our body. It talked about using food as your medicine. How diets can be bad for you. 
What peaked my interest the most was the suggestion of detoxing in order to get the sugar cravings and crap out of your body. The video suggested juicing for 30 days. Placing fresh vegetables and fruits into a juicer, making green detox drinks where the minerals and nutrients can easily get absorbed into your system. This idea is something I have kicked around A LOT but have never done. Why? Who knows. 
Right now with the move my blender is in a box already but once we are moved I am going to give juicing as a form of detoxing a try. I am already doing a good job of eating low carbs and sugars but I still have the really bad cravings for sugar. 
The other suggestion I fell in love with was this, putting a note on your mirror that says, “I accept myself unconditionally just the way I am RIGHT NOW.” For 30 days I am to repeat this to myself each morning. Often times we start our mornings looking in the mirror and hating what we see. I am guilty of this. So instead, this is a way of starting my morning with a positive thought about myself. After all, a negative mind state can be the biggest enemy to getting healthy. 
I also love love LOVE the idea of meditating daily with a picture of what I want to gain from eating healthy (not dieting). Sitting down and quietly picturing myself healthy, vibrant, skin glowing and feeling so much better. Even taking a picture of me when I felt I looked really healthy and looking at it daily while picturing that in my head. Keeping the negative out and instead allowing my body to focus on the positive as well as see the finishing results if I make right choices, could solve a lot of my problems. A lot of the times I get overwhelmed or only see what I look like right now with zits, obesity and PCOS popping up everywhere on me. 
On another note, I can’t wait to move to our better neighborhood. The sun is shining and I wanted to take Red dog for a walk with me around the block this morning. But I couldn’t because I sat there trying to map a route that didn’t take me into a dangerous neighborhood or by vicious dogs that jump fences to attack dogs out walking. With the husband these obstacles are usually not a big deal but alone they are not doable. So I texted the husband that we are going out walking the minute he comes home, we are going to the park with the dogs, taking a walk and then letting them get some social time at the dog park. We need the sunshine. 
At least in our new neighborhood there is a cute little dirt path on the side of the road surrounded by trees to walk Red dog alone. It is a popular well traveled path for older people and other dogs. There is also a HUGE park a couple miles away popular for runners and a park right by the house with a big field. I can’t wait to be able to go enjoy the sun on the weekends without worry of being hurt or vicious dogs not kept behind tall enough fences. 
Where do you get your knowledge when you are trying to learn how to be healthy?

Leave a Reply

