Sick day Asparagus Leek Soup…

I thought I had escaped it. I thought I had avoided it. But alas it caught up to me. Stupid stupid flu bug. It started out innocently enough, I assumed I was having allergy problems because our vacuum broke and the puppy sheds like crazy.

By Monday morning the coughing, congestion and fever made me aware that it wasn’t an allergy problem and more like a flu problem.

I have been home for two days and am just now starting to feel slightly better. Monday I was under strict instructions to stay in bed but I couldn’t sleep due to not being able to breathe every time I laid down. So instead I got a little bit of my moving checklist taken care of, ordered all our utilities to be switched over, ordered our washer/dryer and refrigerator to be delivered at the end of the month and made a few other necessary phone calls. By the end of the afternoon my voice was hoarse, I was exhausted and very dizzy from sitting up for too long.

When I felt up to it, I made it to the couch in order to tell the husband how to make asparagus leek soup. This was a combination of 3 different recipes I found and chose which parts I wanted to use.

I know it doesn’t look like much but it was so very yummy. 
Recipe:
1 bushel of asparagus
1 leek
2 cloves of garlic
1 cup of whipping cream
14 oz can of chicken broth

1 tblspn of butter
1 tblspn of olive oil
Salt and pepper
Croutons
Sour Cream

1. Boil asparagus to soften while frying the leek on low heat, cut up in a pan with butter, olive oil and garlic. Don’t brown leek, just fry long enough to soften.
2. Put cut up asparagus and leek in food processor with a little bit of water each time. You can leave slightly chunky, which is how the husband likes it.
3. Place in pot with cream and chicken stock, don’t boil, keep on low heat until hot. Season to taste.
4. Place croutons in soup with a little bit of sour cream.

I thought it would help with the congestion and it did slightly but within an hour I was back to wheezing and not being able to breathe.

This morning I woke up still not able to breathe and I had to sit in a hot shower in order to work out some of the congestion. So it was back to bed for another damn sick day. I am not the biggest fan of being stuck at home but I also wasn’t going to risk making things worse. Every time I get the flu I push myself instead of resting, which makes it so I end up sick for weeks instead of just a few days.

So back to bed with a little TrueBlood to keep me entertained…

And two furry loves to keep me company…

I am finally starting to feel the congestion breaking up after many hot showers with the door closed, lots of fluids, hot soup and napping. Tomorrow is an important training day at work so I won’t be missing anymore work. 
What I find I am missing the most is going to the gym but I won’t be going till these lungs heal from this horrible coughing. 
So much packing and so little time, we got a new house to move into. You can imagine what I will be spending this weekend doing. So this flu better kick rocks soon! 
Have you escaped the flu bug this year?

2 thoughts on “Sick day Asparagus Leek Soup…

Leave a Reply

