Winter hibernation…

(Authors note: I’m experimenting with blogging from my phone, bare with me if there are mistakes or things look weird.)
It’s been awhile, I know. Would you believe me if I told you I’m adjusting to a new schedule and new job, which is taking up 95% of my energy/brain power? Well it is mostly true.
So even though I haven’t been able to find my my holiday spirit yet this year (probably buried in my Christmas box), the holidays are here and with it a few bad habits.
I’m embarrassed to admit this but I am not exercising and I am eating anything/everything with sugar in it. It is like I’m hibernating while also bulking up just in case.
I get home around 5:30 and immediately crawl into sweats then into my bed, mostly cause I’m freezing. When I do finally exit my den it is late and I’m just looking to forage before bed time. Oh vey no wonder I gained 10 pounds back even with the walking to and from the light rail 5 days a week.
The funny part? (If there is one), I can feel the difference that 10 pounds makes, I never felt that before.
Since I’m using rainy weather as an excuse to be bad, I had to get serious with myself and so I made a workout schedule that includes the gym. I have heard running on the treadmill is easier anyways for newbies like me.
Yes I included an obstacle course thing for the puppy on the weekends. My German Sherphard mix really needs some output for her energy, so the husband and I came up with the idea of going to a dog park on the weekends that has those obstacle courses, that way the big dog can socialize (one her favorite things to do) and the puppy can get some of her energy out in a productive way. I also included taking them for walks on my days off from the gym, the truth is, none of us walk enough these days.
I keep reminding myself that I am going to the gym tonight, no excuses. Every time I start thinking maybe tomorrow, I correct myself again, I WILL be going!!!!! I need to stop hibernating.
So how do you exercise in the winter? How do you stop yourself from eating junk around the holidays?
2 thoughts on “Winter hibernation…

Leave a Reply

