Insomnia…

You ever have one of those days you can’t stop staring at the clock? Willing it to go faster because you seriously just can’t stand sitting at your desk for another minute? Yep, that is the kind of day I am having. I forgot how much I hate insomnia. Want to know what my night looked like last night?

10:00 p.m.: Finished my movie with plenty of time to crawl into bed to get a good nights sleep. 

11:00 p.m.: Couldn’t go to bed till I checked that my Facebook was completely private. Don’t ask.

12:00 a.m.: Got into a huge discussion about nutrition with the husband who is currently taking nutrition.

1:00 a.m.: Brushed my teeth and crawled into bed.

2:00 a.m.: Kicked the covers off despite the cold weather and open window.

2:30 a.m.: Tried to tell head to shut up as it ran through all the things it suddenly wanted to think about. Contemplated getting up to make to do list, thought better of it. 

3:00 a.m.: Gave up, went and read the last chapter of my book and re read Facebook message I wrote back to a friend that decided to dump a whole bunch of drama on me. 

3:30 a.m.: Went back to bed realizing I really needed to sleep. Yelled at old dog to PLEASE STOP SNORING. Told the puppy to quit licking loudly.

4:00 a.m.: Stared at husband snoring and contemplated pushing him off the bed.

4:30 a.m.: Closed window because the city was suddenly being very loud.

5:00 a.m.: Finally fell into a fitful sleep.

7:00 a.m.: Alarm went off and I contemplated calling in sick to work for lack of sleep.

I am sadly at work. It is the end of the month and I have too many filings to call in sick. But my eyes are burning and my head hurts. Stupid insomnia. I really need to get on a sleep schedule. I just can’t function like this anymore. So I set reminders in my calendar starting at 6:00 p.m. today.

6:00-7:00 p.m.- Get up off the couch and take the dog for a walk!

7:00-8:00 p.m.- Make a salad for dinner since the hubby is working and clean up kitchen after you eat!

8:00-9:00 p.m.- Bed time yoga and calming meditation!

9:00-9:30 p.m.- Let doggies run around outside and feed the furry four legged lovies!

9:30-10:00 p.m.- Read book and let puppy cuddle in bed!

10:00 p.m.- Lights out!

The husband is probably counting his lucky stars he is at work tonight. I can get a wee bit cranky when I am sleep deprived.

But other than all that not sleeping crap, I had a decent weekend. On Friday the husband and I headed to Wal-Mart for last minute costume stuff, then headed to dinner at Fresh Choice because a salad is what I needed. Since he works nights and I work days, our schedules conflict a lot and it was nice to get that alone time together to just catch up. Saturday passed in a blur of laziness and burritos from our favorite taqueria.

Then it was time for some Exotic Halloween Ball fun. I was Red Riding Hood…

With tall boots, hair half french braided and the rest loose with waves. And it was a blast. Seriously fun night, but sadly we were up till 3:00 a.m. Which wouldn’t have normally been a problem since we could sleep in easily but the monster puppy (she is almost a year and I still think of her as a puppy) is on a schedule. We go to bed roughly the same time each night, we get up roughly the same time each day. She was super upset about being woken up at 3:00 a.m. and shoved outside in the cold, then put back into her carrier, so she cried and cried and rotated so violently she shook her whole carrier. We could not convince her to go back to sleep. She is seriously our problem child right now and is influencing the big dog to do stupid puppy like things that she knows she isn’t supposed to, *sigh* figures that the puppy would be the bad influence instead of the big dog being the good influence on her. Whoops, anyways, so by 10:00 a.m., we gave up, let her out and fed the critters their breakfast. Which meant we were zombies. Luckily she let us nap at 3:00 p.m. with no whining. 
With my sleep schedule severely off on Sunday, I crawled into a warm bath and didn’t get out till 2 hours later. I didn’t get the house cleaned, or a walk with the dogs or even dinner made, I just laid in that bath feeling lazy and unmotivated. 
By Monday, I was still a zombie due to another night of fitful sleeping but I at least was able to fall asleep around 2:00 a.m. Which is better than last night. 
After spending 2 hours researching EVERYTHING on the 2012 election ballot and officially voting, the husband and I knitted (yes he knits but he loses his patience half way through) while watching scary movies…
I am almost done with my nieces scarf for Christmas, half way done with my nephews and need to start my sisters plus learn how to make matching hats. Homemade gifts from the heart is the theme of this Christmas. I just am tired of spending too much money on all these gifts when I think it means more that I made something. What is your opinion on homemade gifts?
Then we decided to actually carve our two extra pumpkins this year, mostly because I wanted the seeds out of them and because we already drew on the other two…

 

Again, the husband always does scary and I always do smiling. I have to admit though, the husbands carving skills far surpass mine. 
The puppy monster has been a destructive eating things left in the yard machine. So we decided the pumpkins were better left on the kitchen counter where she couldn’t set herself on fire, or the house on fire or eat our poor pumpkins. 
Not a bad weekend. But the stress of all the new things going on, my current job, Facebook messages from friends that are upset, battling to get back on track with losing weight and trying to deal with the every day stresses of training a puppy/cleaning a home/paying off debt etc. have taken a slight toll on me and that would explain the severe lack of motivation and lack of sleep. 
It would appear I am going to have to shake myself out of this downhill slope. So each day, I am going to set reminders on my phone, reminding me to do the things that make me feel better, creating a schedule. Because it only takes 30 days to create or unlearn a new habit, or so they say!!
And thankfully, I have lost 2 of the 8 pounds I gained back recently just by going mostly back to reducing my carb intake. 
What new habit are you trying to learn or unlearn? Feeling unmotivated lately? How do you stop yourself from heading downhill?

One thought on “Insomnia…

Leave a Reply

