Happy Birthday beautiful…

If you were born today

You are a very fair person who is also determined and hard-working. Success usually doesn’t come at a young age, but it does after some early setbacks–and from your own doing. You are a leader and a visionary. You have your feet on the ground, but you are willing to look beyond what is right in front of you. You may have some troubles with people who deceive you. Although you possess an unusually strong ability to understand human nature, when you are personally involved, you tend to believe what you want to believe. Your intellect is sharp. When an important decision has to be made, you listen to others, process the information, and then follow your intuition. practical – enthusiastic – determined

Also Born Today:
Chuck Berry, born October 18, 1926 Musician. One of the leading
pioneers of rock.
Jean-Claude Van Damme, born October 18, 1960 Actor.
Pierre Elliott Trudeau, born October 18, 1919 Former Prime Minister of
Canada.
Martina Navratilova, born October 18, 1956 Tennis player.

Good bye 27 and hello 28! Today is my birthday and I can’t convince myself to dread being older. The truth is, 27 had a great run of it but now it is 28’s turn.

So far I have gotten a text message bright and early from my Mom, two cups of coffee…

And a cake pop…
Oh and I mustn’t forget, a brand new spanking fancy phone…
Thanks to the hubby. See this is what I love about him, he had been carefully thinking for weeks that I needed a new phone, my old one was horrible, it moved slow, froze, wouldn’t load apps anymore and they stopped selling it awhile ago because it was getting so many complaints. So he carefully discussed with me the IPhone vs. the Galaxy phones, which have a lot of similar features but with the Android market. I love the IPhone but after seeing this beauty, I am almost positive I made the correct choice. 
Anyways, I digress. He has been dropping hints for me to pick one and I kept saying Christmas was a long way off. Turns out he was planning to get me a phone for my birthday from the very beginning. Little sneaker.
Google also has put up candles and cake on my search bar, I have gotten many e-mails from Torrid, Old Navy and Sephora, plus a cute card from my co-workers. But me, myself, I, well I just can’t seem to get too excited. Probably because graduation is tomorrow. 
I remember this time 2 years ago, turning 26 years old, I was broke, exhausted with struggling and very unhealthy. This time last year, I was about to start my second year legal courses and frustrated with being out of shape. I quit smoking around this time last year. I started my weight loss journey. I promised I would graduate college. I poured myself into these goals, dragging myself through 40 hour work weeks and 12 hour school weeks, homework, studying and days of pure exhaustion. I figured out what eating healthy meant to my health condition and body. I started learning to run. I spent hours walking with the dogs on the weekends. 
Now I am welcoming 28, roughly 46 pounds lighter, a college graduate, interviewing for amazing positions in the legal field and no longer struggling as bad. For the first time in a long time I have hope. Somehow I know that everything will work out, I will get a good job, I will lose the weight and I will eventually have a family. Right now, I should just enjoy turning 28 years old and graduating college. 
Hello 28, let’s make some memories! This is the year I will get out of debt and lose even more pounds!!!
I just want to take a moment to really thank the people that have made 27 so great before we completely say good bye to it…
Thanks Mom, for pushing out my big shoulders today, always supporting me, always telling me I was an amazing person and NEVER EVER giving up on me or letting me give up on myself. Thank you for the pedicures and getting me out of the house with lunch. For answering the phone when I got stuck on legal documents and just listening to me wallow in self pity at times. Thank you for teaching me how to run. You are a big part of the reason I am standing here today, 46 pounds lighter and a college graduate. I don’t think I would have survived any of this without your love and support. I couldn’t ask for a better Mom and friend then the one I have!!!

Thanks hubby for every time you fed the dogs because I couldn’t, for listening to me rant about how exhausted I was after a very long 16 hour day of work and school, for making dinner before I got home, for cleaning the house over and over again, for riding your bike to pick up dinner or run an errand, for meeting me at work, for helping with my math homework and never walking away from me after numerous nights of crankiness radiating from me. For the hours upon hours of quizzing me right before mid terms or finals, even if you were exhausted and starting to learn the legal terminology yourself. For telling me how beautiful and smart I am, over and over again till I started to believe it as well. Thank you for eating Paleo with me, reminding me of my goals when I forgot and holding my hand when it all got to be too much.You are my best friend!

Thank you friends/family that have been there when I texted or called frustrated, just needing to vent or complain to someone. Thank you for distracting me with your stories and reminding me not to get too self absorbed. Thank you for dragging me out of the house to play pool or float down the river or just to wander the farmers market. Thank you for telling me how proud you are of me. Thank you for sticking by me, even when I couldn’t call as much or see you as much or couldn’t listen to your life problems. Thank you for the congratulations, smiles and even some tears. Thank you for understanding that I needed to do this for myself. Thank you for the advice.

Okay, now that I have taken a good long walk on the sappy side, good bye 27, it has been a good year!


5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday beautiful…

Leave a Reply

