It starts with yeast rolls…

In the fall and winter, I bake, it is just my thing and I understand that right now I should be attempting baking Paleo style but to be honest, I love my traditional recipes. So I am baking my style and eating it in moderation, so far I am still losing weight. 
So ever since my beautiful used mixer walked into my life in the arms of a friend, I have been dying to try it. I washed it on Tuesday and put it away with the waffle maker, hand mixer, blender and food chopper to keep it company until I could find the time to use it.
All of Monday and Tuesday I was on the hunt for a simple beginners bread recipe to get me comfortable with working with yeast. I remember my mom making fresh bread, letting it rise and the smell of fresh baked bread wafting through the air. I remember when she got a bread maker, adding all the ingredients together into the machine and a few hours later a crunchy loaf would emerge. Nothing beats fresh baked bread and even though I try to stay away from bread, I wouldn’t mind having some stashed in the freezer for the husband. 
Easy yeast rolls is what I found. So last night, after a round of frustrating text messages and a whole lot of stupid drama about my graduation, I decided bread is what I needed to get my mind centered again.
It starts with a recipe…
Then of course you must have ingredients:
  • 1 c. warm water(115 degrees)
  • 1 pkg. active dry yeast
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 Tbs. soft butter
  • 3 Tbs. sugar
  • 2-1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1. In a stand mixer with dough hook or a large bowl and a strong arm.  Dissolve yeast and sugar and let stand for 5 minutes, you should see foam. 

The foam was more of a swamp goo floating on the top but it somewhat resembled foam at least. 

2. Then add butter, salt and flour one 1/2 cup at a time.  Blend for 3-4 minutes dough will be sticky.

This mixer did its job once I figured out how to use it. The hubby suggested loosening up the arm holding the roller thing after the butter kept getting caught and the middle wasn’t getting mixed. He was right, with the arm loose, it worked like a dream at that point. 
3. Turn onto a floured surface and knead for 3-4 minutes until smooth.

(I know the pictures look identical but they aren’t, they were taken at separate times of the mixing process) So since I had extensively read up on my mixer, I knew it could do the kneading for me as well. So instead of kneading it myself, I left it in the mixer for roughly 3 more minutes till it was smooth. 
4. Place dough ball in a large oiled bowl then turn over so that both sides of ball are oiled, cover with plastic wrap and let rise 1 hr or until doubled.

I used olive oil to coat the pan but next time I might try a tasteless oil like canola or butter. 

And boy did it double in size.
5. Punch down and squeeze out balls, coat them with oil and place in a 10″ round pan or a 12 hole muffin tin.  Cover with a tea towel and let rise 1 hour.
I went with a muffin tin and you can tell that some of them I made far too big. And yes I need new muffin pans. 
6. Bake in oven pre-heated to 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.  
I served them up with some baked chicken and yam mash. It was an amazing dinner. 
The yeast rolls were good, crisp and filling. But I want them to be a little more buttery or sweeter. So I have found a few other recipes with more sugar and butter to start experimenting with but at least I am comfortable with working with my mixer and yeast now. 
All in all, a success!!!
Now the husband is bugging me about making Niemus Marcus cookies tonight. I just might, I just might! Stay tuned for homemade apple sauce and zucchini muffins coming this weekend as well. 
Bake anything new recently?



2 thoughts on “It starts with yeast rolls…

Leave a Reply

