Comfort food…

Minestrone soup. The ultimate comfort food is currently simmering away on my stove and smelling up the whole house. 
The smell reminds me of cold evenings and my moms big pot on the stove. I would watched fascinated by her ability to make this complicated looking soup without a recipe. The smell reminds me of fresh french bread, crisp from the oven and butter melting away. Big chunks of Parmesan cheese shredded on top. 
So when I decided to finally face getting my wisdom teeth out, I decided that what I needed in order to feel better was a little home cooked minestrone soup. 
Even though getting your wisdom teeth removed is probably close to the simplest procedure to get, I am nervous. I have never been knocked out. I have never had surgery in any form. All I can think of, is what if they drop the tooth in my throat or I feel it while sleeping? 
Just call me the queen of anxiety. 
As I smell the familiar smell of minestrone soup wafting through the house, I can’t help but feel a little bit better about tomorrow.  
Recipe:
I doubled the ingredients so it would last a few days extra!

Ingredients

  • 3 cups reduced-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15-ounce) can white (cannellini or navy) beans, drained
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 2 cups cooked ditalini pasta
  • 1 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
  • Basil sprigs, garnish, optional

Directions

In a slow cooker, combine broth, tomatoes, beans, carrots, celery, onion, thyme, sage, bay leaves, and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and black pepper. Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 8 hours or on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours.
Thirty minutes before the soup is done cooking, add ditalini, zucchini and spinach. Cover and cook 30 more minutes. Remove bay leaves and season, to taste, with salt and black pepper. Ladle soup into bowls and sprinkle parmesan cheese over top. Garnish with basil, if desired.

So I left out the noodles to make it more Paleo. I also added whatever herbs I had in my garden, mostly rosemary, parsley and thyme. I added fresh tomatoes, 4 cups of vegetable broth and 2 cups of chicken broth for a little flavor. It is simmering on low and it will be there most of the day before being placed in the fridge so I can just microwave it whenever I want a bowl. 
What is your ultimate comfort food?

5 thoughts on “Comfort food…

  1. Ultimate comfort food? Major serious questions that is! I'm going to roll with red beans and rice! Ain't no making that skinny…thanks for sharing the reciepe! A good soup would be fabulous with this fall weather! Hope you're having a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

