Preparing…

I sucked it up and rescheduled my oral surgeon appointment for Monday instead of next Friday. That means, I am dedicating this whole weekend to getting prepared for it. I know this is weird, it isn’t major surgery, but to me it is a big deal.

The husband will be home by the time I get done with my appointment. According to the oral surgeon receptionist, because I am opting to get knocked out, I can not work or go to school for that whole day because I will have drugs in my system. She sounded awfully offended when I asked if I could at least attend class that night. Sheesh lady, I only have three weeks of class left, I really would prefer not to miss any but not being in pain I decided was more important. My Mom is my ride there and back.

With all that worked out, I am concentrating on the other details, details probably normal people don’t think about.

For example, I know I need to pick up my library book and return a few as well before I acquire late fees. I need to deep clean the whole house, so that on Monday, I won’t be tempted to get up and start cleaning. I will need to make sure I do laundry and clean up the outside. All my homework will be getting done. I will also need to run to the grocery store to get the ingredients for minestrone soup.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups reduced-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 (28-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15-ounce) can white (cannellini or navy) beans, drained
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 2 cups cooked ditalini pasta
  • 1 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 2 cups coarsely chopped fresh or frozen spinach, defrosted
  • 4 tablespoons grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
  • Basil sprigs, garnish, optional

Directions

In a slow cooker, combine broth, tomatoes, beans, carrots, celery, onion, thyme, sage, bay leaves, and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and black pepper. Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 8 hours or on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours.
Thirty minutes before the soup is done cooking, add ditalini, zucchini and spinach. Cover and cook 30 more minutes. Remove bay leaves and season, to taste, with salt and black pepper. Ladle soup into bowls and sprinkle parmesan cheese over top. Garnish with basil, if desired.
When I think of minestrone soup, I think of my Mom and her throwing the big blue or red pot on the stove, throwing random ingredients into the pot and letting it simmer all day long. It always made me feel better to eat that soup. It was our cold day, last all week, go to easy meal. 
Now as an adult, I use it in times of comfort. She doesn’t follow a set recipe but since I am horrible at just throwing things together, I follow a recipe but add my own twists and don’t follow it too carefully. Since I am still trying to follow Paleo, I will be leaving out the noodles but not the white beans. I figured it would be soft, easy to eat and it won’t cause me pain, since I have heard I won’t really want to eat anything I have to chew, nor can I afterwards. 
I have Netflix on demand to keep me entertained and I was told mostly I just would want to sleep a lot. Maybe a lot of sleep will be good for me. Who knows, but keeping these wisdom teeth in much longer is not a good idea! So scared or not, I will be facing that fear and getting them removed on Monday!
What do you do to prepare for things that scare you? Ever have your wisdom teeth removed?

Leave a Reply

