Paleo Pancakes and some other good eats…

Sundays are pretty perfect don’t you think? Especially a Sunday with another day off after it! Woo hoo.

I have to say, I have been pretty darn proud of myself lately, I am sticking to Paleo and taking lots of walks with the dogs. Thinking of walks, want to see the kind of dog abuse I submit my dogs to (and apparently my husband as well)…

With two dogs and not always two humans to walk said two dogs, it seemed like the perfect solution, a double leash. Red of course gets the longer lead because she is older and Arya gets the shorter lead. It actually worked and kept the puppy in line. 
How else do we torture puppies…
I actually feel more sorry for the big dog than the small dog. She is like a crash test dummy with that hood. Running into walls, doors and scraping the sharp plastic against the big dogs face and our legs. 
After a little over a week of being confined to her carrier, the stitches are almost all the way healed, the puppy finally is allowed to run around and we even sometimes give her a break from her cone…
Look at those darn ears. We have dubbed her a dingo. 
Anywho, I got puppy side tracked, which happens, a lot. Saturday I was determined to take some time out for myself, the husband had to work, I had plenty of healthy food to eat, the dogs had been walked already and it was the perfect temperature to open the windows while a nice breeze blew in. While the dogs slept off their morning walk, I took a bubble bath and finished June’s Health magazine, woo hoo I am almost caught up. 😉 
Lunch was…
Yep, a smoothie. I know, I am obsessed. Coconut milk, pluots, apricots and a half of banana.

I am getting damn good at making killer salads. This one had organic lettuce from the farmers market, apples, almond slices and kalamata olives.
The salad dressing, of course, was my very own creation. I despise store bought salad dressing now…
Olive oil, honey mustard, balsamic vinegar and organic honey from the farmers market. So simple and so yummy. 
After lunch, I spent a little more time working on my nieces scarf for Christmas and drinking some cranberry tea in hopes of getting rid of these throat problems I am having right now…

 

It is coming along, I am actually almost done, yay!

Then I did something I vowed I would never do. I started reading the very first Sookie Stackhouse novel…

I am a sucker for vampire romances. Probably stemming from the Anne Rice obsession I had as a teenager and all the many, hundreds, billions of times I watched Interview With A Vampire. I loved reading the Twilight books and now I am sort of stuck on the Sookie Stackhouse books. I stayed up till 4 am finishing the first book and have already put the second one on hold at the library. (Yes, I still love the library, even though I own a Kindle). Once I got past her choppy writing and sort of traditional view of the whole vampire thing, I was hooked. Seriously, sucker for vampire romance novels over here. Maybe I should start a support group.
Needless to say, I was late getting up this morning but craving pancakes something fierce. Paleo is not really friendly to traditional pancakes, too much processed carb ingredients in them. So I have been on the look out for the perfect recipe, using coconut flour not almond flour (not a fan). I stumbled upon this coconut flour pancake recipe and decided it was so worth a try. 
Recipe with my own tweaks:
Ingredients-
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tbsp of raw organic honey
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Additional butter or oil for the pan
First mix all the dry ingredients together, the coconut flour, salt and baking powder. Then in a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients, honey, eggs, butter melted, almond milk (I use unsweetened) and vanilla extract. Then combine in one big bowl, whisking till mixed. I added a little bit more coconut in the mixture to make it thicker. 

Then fry them up like normal pancakes. A little bit of butter in the pan and away you go. Be warned though, wait till the edges have brown before flipping and make smaller pancakes. These pancakes can be a little watery and hard to flip if you don’t.

The husband, who does not like coconut, said no thank you, just because they do have a coconut flavor to them. Me on the other hand, I loaded my plate up with pancakes, bacon and an omelet…

Now the husband has been experimenting on making his own salsa. Since we only have a blender and not a food processor (yet), they come out a little liquefied, but amazingly good. With this salsa, he threw in a little garlic, some sweet onion, fresh tomatoes and jalapenos with the seeds removed. Got a kick to it, but very tasty with omelets. 
As I get further into this Paleo/eating healthy journey, I have learned how important it is to make your own food, have fun with it, experiment but above all, that way you know what goes into it. There came a point where I had to either keep letting PCOS run my life or I had to find some way of coping with it. Right now I am really happy, I am at 303 pounds (I started at 335 pounds), it simply amazes me that next week I might be below 300 FINALLY. I have more energy, better stamina and my health condition isn’t ruling my life as much. I still have a long ways to go but at least I am finally learning what it truly means to be healthy for me after a painful 27 year struggle. 
Today is a lazy Sunday. I am still rocking the PJ’s. Tomorrow is a deep clean the house and yard day. Then back to work and school on Tuesday. 😦 
How are you enjoying your three day weekend? Any new recipes you tried? What does being healthy mean to you?


8 thoughts on “Paleo Pancakes and some other good eats…

  1. I have read almost all of the SVM series. I have to say, I like the show better. Maybe because Alexander Skarsgård is in it?
    Your salad looks great! I have been trying to come up with new salads since we have one every night. Tonight was BLT salad and it turned out pretty good. I'd love to see the others you have come up with.

Leave a Reply

