Paleo Diet…

I had never even uttered the word, nor heard it before my camping trip. One night, while the ribs were cooking on the fire…

my friend brought it up by casually mentioning she was starting the Paleo diet on July 15th. I asked a few questions but then forgot about it again until mentioned again by said friend on Sunday. By the time I had gotten home, I had already decided it was something I would research.

See I have been told repeatedly to avoid carbs with PCOS. I still don’t understand the exact connection but I do understand when I carb overload, my body fights back, in a very angry manner. It is one of the reasons I started taking Metformin. I just wanted to feel better, not crash after I eat and lose weight. Ever since, I have been hunting for a lifestyle change that fits me and my condition. I have researched gluten free, even tested it out a bit, I have researched being a vegetarian, the Atkins diet and Jenny Craig. The husband didn’t like any of them really.

What you have to understand is that my husband’s mother died over 600 pounds. She dieted herself to the weight she was mixed with a few health problems. When I say, husband approved, he won’t let me go on fad diets, temporary diets or starving myself diets. I research a lifestyle change, forward it to him, he researches it and then we discuss it at length. Honestly, I don’t mind. He cares, he wants to see me healthy but he also doesn’t want to see me yo-yo my weight or freak my body out worse by not listening to it. Plus he is an Paramedic in training and is taking nutrition this semester. 


Since food affects my condition so much, I tend to over research any new food or change I am going to make to see how it has and will affect other women with PCOS. So for the last two days I have been extensively researching the Paleo lifestyle


Defining Paleo:

“The paleolithic diet (abbreviated paleo diet or paleodiet), also popularly referred to as the caveman diet, Stone Age diet and hunter-gatherer diet, is a modern nutritional plan based on the presumed ancient diet of wild plants and animals that various hominid species habitually consumed during the Paleolithic era—a period of about 2.5 million years duration that ended around 10,000 years ago with the development of agriculture. In common usage, such terms as the “Paleolithic diet” also refer to the actual ancestral human diet. Centered on commonly available modern foods, the “contemporary” Paleolithic diet consists mainly of fish, grass-fed pasture raised meats, vegetables, fruit, fungi, roots, and nuts, and excludes grains, legumes, dairy products, salt, refined sugar, and processed oils.”
After that, I researched Paleo’s effect on PCOS, I found LOTS of positive stories and very few negative ones. Because the Paleo diet almost competly eliminates carbs except for the one’s in vegetables, it seems to agree with women with PCOS:
The Paleo Diet can be very beneficial for women suffering from polycystic ovarian syndrome. Changing your diet and lifestyle can be a great way to see the results that you really want. Losing weight is so difficult with having PCOS so finding diet to help with that is key.”
I was diagnosed with pcos over a year ago..suffering like all of us do with excessive weight gain while exercising 6 days a week. Not to mention no cycle for 6 months! I had read about paleo and the health benefits so I started cold turkey two months ago! Needless to say I’ve LOST 10 pounds, not even exercising..and my cycles came back regular, so it really works.. can’t wait to see what happens when I start running again..best of luck to you and hope you try PALEO Diet because it works!”
I also found this website and this website interesting as well. Both of these sites were honest, it might suck at first, just like everything does when you have PCOS and make changes, but it should get better, if it doesn’t, stop it. I prefer real life stories over fake info commercial one’s. That is why a lot of my information comes from other PCOS blogs and stories from women who have PCOS. How better to learn about a condition then from someone suffering from it?!
Basically the Paleo food triangle breaks down like this:


Goodbye Funyuns…
Since I already went shopping till the 20th of July and I need more time to really figure out what I could make for lunches and how comfortable I am with this change, the Paleo diet is still in the researching mode. Though I do have to be honest, I would be willing to try ANYTHING right now to feel better. I am so darn tired of being tired, getting my butt kicked by PCOS and staying at the same weight. 
Anyone else hear of the Paleo diet? On it? Like it? Hate it?




4 thoughts on “Paleo Diet…

  1. I started eating Paleo 7 months ago when I started Crossfit. It's the recommended lifestyle eating for that type of workout. I love it. funny thing was I pretty much was already eating Paleo before hand. I just really had to cut out my cereal and my struggle with cookies and cake. I love sugar. It makes feel good and i know im doing good for my body. Im happy your seeing results and enjoying it.

  2. I havae heard of it. If it works for you that is fantastic. I am a big believer in what works for one persons lifestyle may n
    not work for anothers. That is where the trial and error comes in.
    You're husband sounds like a great person. He supports you and wants whats best.

    Hopefully this will help make you feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

