How does your garden grow…

Mary, Mary, quite contrary, How does your garden grow?


Well I don’t know about Mary’s garden, but mine seems to be surviving my amazing non green thumb so far.

The peas are doing the best and the green onions are trying (ignore my dirt yard)…

The tiny tiny green onions are hard to see.

The lettuce seems pretty happy, lots of little sprouts, they are going to run out of room soon…

You can also see the crazy parsley plant in the big bin, happy as can be and the artichoke plant next to it looking a little sad.

The tomatoes have small little sprouts but still seem like they are doing okay. I forgot to take a picture of them, silly me.

I haven’t killed anything yet. That is a pretty big accomplishment so far.

Speaking of accomplishments, I got up at 5:45 am and took the dogs for a walk around the block. It took a LOT of pep talking, trust me, I hate mornings.

Once I started walking I made sure I moved fast and walking the big dog is always a form of resistance training. You would think after seven years she would get better at a leash, but nope, she still pulls. The greatest part was being up that early left time for me to take a slow shower, put on more then just some eyeliner and mascara and eat a bowl of oatmeal while drinking my cranberry tea. I am slightly tired but still feel good.

This was a promise I made to myself, to squeeze in exercise wherever possible and mornings before work seems to be the only time I have these days. Plus I got to add a dollar to my accountability jar.

I am also starting Tia Chi on Wednesday evenings (my only night I don’t have class during the week) with a friend and my mom offered to help coach me with beginning running on Friday evenings. Looks like I booked up my weeks from Monday-Friday, but in the end it is what I need to do to get healthy.

I stepped on the scale this morning and happily noticed a pound missing. Maybe the new medication is starting to help.

As for my diet, still being cleaned up. Finally made it to the grocery store yesterday and bought all healthy choices. Low carbs, low sugars. I even got the zucchini to try the noodle-less lasagna this weekend. I am hesitant but I will let you know how it goes. I managed to also remember to pick up some multi-vitamins to hopefully help get my anemia under control.

Small steps in the right direction.

I have started this new dialogue in my head, instead of thinking about how exhausted I am each night on my way to class, I have started counting the weeks till I graduate and imagining what I will do with my degree. 18 weeks, 18 weeks and I will be a college graduate. Right before bed, I tell myself how proud I am of me (weird I know) because I managed to go to 8 hours of work and 3 hours of class. Acknowledging these daily accomplishments has helped me with my staying positive vow. When I pay the bills, I tell myself good job for working so hard and getting those bills paid. It seems goofy, it really does, but it is slowly making me think about the good more then the bad.

9 pounds down so far!

What do you do to stay positive? How do you stay accountable?

2 thoughts on “How does your garden grow…

Leave a Reply

