Zombie Apocalypse aka the flu…

I should have known something was wrong when my lymph nodes kept swelling on me for a week straight. I should have known something was wrong when I put myself to bed early without complaints for almost a week straight. I should have known something was wrong when I couldn’t breathe. But I didn’t realize something was wrong till I woke up with a chest full of congestion and a horrible hacking cough.

For the last few days my house has resembled something of a zombie apocalypse. All you could hear were moans, groans and weird hacking noises periodically. Every once in awhile there would be a scrap of feet on the floor. I swore that some guy in a full body suit was going to knock on our door and  tell us we couldn’t leave the house. I am being a little dramatic, but this flu was hell on wheels.

It was just me at first. Saturday was when I finally realized something was wrong and I was sick. So I laid on the couch watching movies, hoping it would go away. Sunday I realized it was just getting worse, so I spent the whole day napping. Monday I stayed in bed reading a whole book. Tuesday morning I woke up wanting to go to work, but knowing my body wasn’t going to allow me to, so I stayed home again. By Tuesday my back hurt from laying in bed, I was drained from fighting the horribly random symptoms and was now forced to listen to my husband whine because now he was sick too.

The puppy has been either stuck outside to play with the big dog or stuck inside napping with us. The big dog has taken to pacing, trying to find the quietest room, where she won’t be in the bathroom path or coughed on. The cat hasn’t slept with us for three nights in a row, choosing instead to play with his ball out in the living room. It would be comical if I hadn’t felt so crappy.

I woke up this morning, still feeling crappy, but determined to make it to work no matter what. I wanted to be out of that house, interact with someone besides my husband and I COULD NOT face another day cooped up in bed.

So here I am, sitting at my desk, trying not to cough on clients or while I am on the phone and drinking a ton of water because my mouth is dry. You ever get water up your nose, know that burning feeling, I got it right now. Stupid sinuses. My abdomen hurts, my back hurts, turns out coughing works muscles I don’t normally work. My boss informed me today that I was still young, by my 30’s I wouldn’t get sick as often. Here’s to hoping!

Honestly being sick during spring break is kind of perfect timing, if I hadn’t already had a short vacation planned, I would have missed a lot more work and school, which I hate doing.

BUT and I never thought I would say this, never, but here I go, I am disappointed, not because my four day weekend was ruined, but mostly because with a chest cold I couldn’t get out there and exercise. I had bike rides planned, where I was hoping to push myself to 8 miles, maybe even 10 miles. I had my couch to 5k beginners running program scheduled. I had walks with the dog. And the weather was actually nice enough to do it too. Well except for Saturday when it was raining.

A year ago, I would have just wanted to get better because I hate feeling like crap. But now I want to get better so I can start up my exercising program again. I am saddened by the reality that I might not be able to do any hard core exercising till next weekend, since it doesn’t seem like my chest is in a hurry to clear up.

But I can walk, so walk I will, until I can do more!

I did lose 6 pounds in four days due to being sick though. I was a little shocked when I stepped on the scale this morning.

3 thoughts on “Zombie Apocalypse aka the flu…

  1. Hope you feel better soon. I always find that I get sick right after really busy times… it's like my body has been working SO hard to get everything done that once the pressure is past, my immune system is exhausted. Just enjoy your walking time until you're up to more… I'm sure you'll be back to running before long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

