WoW time… Small expectations…

Authors Note: This weeks prompt was harder than I thought it was going to be. I tried writing many different fantasy peices and non fantasy, small beginnings to childrens books, but none of it fit right. So I settled on this, hopefully it works with the prompt and isn’t too off course!! Check the prompt out here!

The Write on Wednesday Spark: Small expectationsAs I am thinking about education and learning, kindergarten and university, I have taken this week’s writing exercise from one of my early childhood books. It is an activity I do with small children and one that always inspires so I thought it would be fun to see what the exercise inspires in adults. So, your prompt is: Imagine yourself as tiny as your thumb.Where would you live? What would you do?

I know this might be a difficult exercise but it’s all in the name of exploration. Try and make it work for your own writing needs. Write a children’s story, write a fantasy piece or work it into a fiction or non-fiction piece.Wherever the prompt takes you. Keep your post on the short side: up to 500 words OR a 5 minute stream of consciousness exercise. Link your finished piece to the list and begin popping by the other links. Oh, and enjoy!

We were perfect, best friends, lovers, we laughed, we loved, we had it all. There were hard times. Some harder than others, but I figured we would make it through it all. Until the day you left, without a warning, without an explanation, without a tear.

You made me feel small. As small as your thumb, isgnificant, thrown away. Maybe you had to picture me small in order to toss me aside like you did.

Did I make you feel small?

I wandered around for years with that small feeling, looking up at everyone else, begging, pleading with my eyes to help me feel big again. I walked around feeling sorry for myself. Sad. Lost. Hundreds of questions keeping my eyes wide open at night.

When I left that town, those memories, those accidental run ins. I started growing. Slowly. It took years to feel like my normal size again.

While I had felt as small as a penny on the inside, I was growing bigger on the outside. Somehow feeling so small, made me feel like I needed to be bigger on the outside, to protect myself.?

That is the last time I ever felt that small.

10 thoughts on “WoW time… Small expectations…

  1. Gosh, I feel sad. This is a great thoughtful, reflective piece. I really like it. I think it describes so well what we have to do to protect ourselves. A good reflection on growing up. Meg

  2. Wow! This is beautiful! It's sad, but the level of emotional insight it shares is warming. I think if you can capture an emotional journey so perfectly, like this, you could create the details of a story around it and it will always be compelling. 🙂

  3. I really loved the line “I felt small as a penny on the inside.” It gives the reader a sense of how deeply the character is feeling. This is a moving piece with alot of heart. Nice work!

  4. I was a little worried about this prompt because I struggled with it and wasn't sure my piece followed the prompt correctly. But getting all this great feedback from you guys makes me feel much better about it.

    Thank you thank you thank you for all the great comments!!

  5. What a great take on the prompt. I looked at that one and couldn't think of a thing. Such deeply felt emotions, beautifully expressed. It's good to be big.

    –Feisty

Leave a Reply

