A little bit of whining and an amazing bike ride…

Sleep. I have been talking a lot about it, well because I am seriously lacking in it, due to my own fault. Last week when my dark circles turned into bruises around me eyes, my husband started looking up sleep deprivation in medical case studies and his EMT book.

Randomly he quotes things he thinks are important to me. I think he might be slightly worried.

The truth is, lack of sleep is making me forgetful, fuzzy, unmotivated and grumpy. Lets not even talk about the random eye twitch or how accident prone I am. During the day I find myself fantasizing about going home, crawling into bed and sleeping for hours.

After breaking down and finally reading the sleep studies, I realized where my problems were coming from. Turns out sleep is very important. Whoops.

When you work eight hours, then head to class for three, by the end of the day you have been running for roughly 16 hours. That is a long day, but one I use to be able to manage. Now I feel myself dragging my butt to each thing, not really wanting to go, all because I stopped sleeping as much.

It started off simple, staying up a little later during the holidays to get errands done and morphed into me staying awake just to read my book till 12 a.m., where I finally let myself collapse into bed exhausted and wake up at 6:45 a.m. the next morning. I felt MUCH better when I would put myself to bed by 10 p.m. and get up at 6:45 a.m., at least then my body got some REM sleep. Now it just gets light sleep and after weeks, okay a couple of months, of doing this, it has had enough.

I find even on the weekends I don’t want to do anything, I sleep in till 11:00 a.m. and then have to convince myself to get out of bed and start my day. This means, I am not getting my projects done or getting a lot of spare time to ride my bike.

*Le sigh*

So the husband has taken to saying to me, “when you can get yourself back unto a healthy sleep cycle, then we can talk about getting up a little earlier to ride our bikes in the morning.” OR ” You know those dark bruises will only get worse and more noticeable unless you get yourself back into your sleep schedule.” What a smart, annoying man I married huh?

BUT enough of me whining.

I rode my bike yesterday, off road, for the first time. We went to a smallish park that I have always wanted to walk around, it is smack in the middle of a busy street, but has all these trees, little rivers and a swampish type area that seems full of wildlife. A little piece of nature in the city.

Now my husband LOVES off road biking. So he was very excited. Me, well I was tired, feeling horrible (lack of sleep) and just wanting some fresh air.

It started off on a nice, well ridden, dirt packed trail, we passed two young girls with a small yippee dog (who lunged at my feet), a guy on a very funny looking bike and a gentlemen who hogged the road then suddenly veered off trail into the woods, we would see flashes of him through the trees through out our whole ride (strange).

Then my husband suddenly veered off the path and started on a barely noticeable narrow horse path through the woods. Here he shouted out obstacles to me, as I felt a the start of a smile showing on my face.

Then we made it to the marshlands (what I call them, but I think it is a run off actually) and stopped for five minutes to read the sign, though I think the husband was just giving me a break. I was winded, sore but ready to push on.

Off we went again, veering off course, snaking through trees and laughing the whole time. The look on my husbands face was worth it, he was loving this. I was loving it.

We passed another biker who told us that she use to ride horses on these trails, but now she is reduced to riding a bike, running behind her was a big black dog with a mind of his own, stopping and smelling whenever he felt the need.

(Which gave me an idea, next weekend we are going to try Red out. No one walks their dog on a leash there and Red is amazingly well trained in voice commands. We shall see if it ends in a disaster.)

By the time we were done, I had ridden my little heart out, I was pouring down sweat, my legs hurt but I was smiling.

We did the math and it appeared all together we rode 4 miles all over the park and I held my own. I managed to stay on my bike, maneuver around trees, peddle hard, rode fast and didn’t lose my momentum even towards the end.

For two hours I forgot everything, I forgot about school, work, errands, chores, money, friends, family and anything else that has been plaguing me.

So this is why people love running? I think I have found my love, my motivation, my reason to exercise finally. And to think it came in the form of  a weird green, on sale, amazingly comfy bike.

How was your weekend?

Leave a Reply

