Christmas is over…

Christmas was calm and relaxing. I got everything I could have possibly wanted and more. I spent time with the people I love and was deemed the present guru this year. My Apple pie and fudge were a huge hit with everyone who tried them. My turkey and peanut butter cookies were a huge hit with the hubby.

After spending the weeks before Christmas running around like a crazy person, with dark circles, frizzy hair and trying to squeeze too much in my already too busy days, I have to say I am somewhat relieved Christmas is over. Four days off of work, I still don’t feel like I got enough recovery time and I find myself sitting at my desk today pondering just taking a nap. Luckily I have a week off of school.
I spent most of Monday in my PJ’s, lounging on the couch, eating and catching up on Psych episodes. About half way through the day I felt sick, lethargic and just like I needed fresh air. So I forced myself to take a shower, change into work out clothes and convinced the hubby to go bike riding with me (didn’t take much convincing since he loves riding his bike). We rode a little over 3 miles all around the golf course that sits by our house. Felt great, I rode hard and only stopped once for a break. Though I guess it wasn’t enough to keep my body from reacting negatively to the carbs and sugar overload of the last four days.
Turns out I have gained 4 pounds back and last night I woke up at 3 a.m. with horrible heart burn (something I never usually get). Despite the 26 degree weather outside, I was boiling hot. I tossed and turned for hours trying to get comfortable, then woke up with a very cranky tummy this morning.
So now that the holidays are over, I am back to cutting carbs, concentrating on fruits/veggies and going to try to exercise everyday with my bike, whether it is 20 minutes or 2 hours. Doing the no carb, no sugar cleanse for two weeks taught me an important lesson, though it isn’t plausible for me to completely eliminate both in my life without feeling deprived and grumpy, it is possible to greatly reduce them both and it makes my body happy.
So 4 more days and then it will be 2012.. any resolutions or plans?
2 thoughts on “Christmas is over…

  1. Glad you had a nice Christmas – also glad it's over too! 🙂
    I've gained a few pounds back, as well. Time to get back on the diet – well, after I eat all the rest of the cookies & chocolate around here! And some rich turkey casseroles too! haha

Leave a Reply

